Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
My husbands favorite way to eat squash - simple and only a few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This is the basic recipe I use every Fall, but I add pumpkin pie seasoning and cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bergj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
My TWIST on this recipe... I cook in the micro and place the 2 halves side-by-side in a Pyrex dish with a 1/4 inch of water, but I fill the cavities with brown sugar and then slowly fill with Soy sauce. The sweet of the sugar and sour of the Soy makes a great sauce when you mix the squash into the liquid. Micro them for about 10 mins on High. Check for doneness and micro again if necessary. Man Cooker of the house, Norm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N K Thoms

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Great recipe. I cooked these cut side up and used honey instead of butter. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I have made acorn squash like this for years however I also add some fresh grated nutmeg, cinnamon, a splash of sweet sherry ,salt and pepper and butter. I pierce the flesh with a fork to let the melted butter, sherry and other ingredients soak into the flesh. I bake the two open halves side up so the flesh browns just a tad. When it is cooked I fork mash it all together to blend the flavors. Over the top good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Try substituting the brown sugar with maple syrup for a change. I usually put in a dab of butter and add about a tablespoon of real maple syrup or more. I also use a brush to cover the cut edges. So good but not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristineB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Magalia, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This is the way I always cook my acorn squash. It's easy and yummy! Two tips...1. Use pourable brown sugar (easier to sprinkle evenly) and 2. cut a small piece off the bottom of each half to keep them from tipping over or sliding around in the pan. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
It always comes out perfect. To quick start, put squash with just butter in the microwave for 5 to 10 min on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUNASCOMET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Made this for the first time and we loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This was really good, but I felt like butter was the most prominent flavor. The butter soaked right into the squash (which was delicious) but it needed something else. Next time I'll add some cinnamon and nutmeg to give it more flavor. Overall great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 490) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States