Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Wow! Wished I discovered this long time ago! Microwave is a way to go to cut down on cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dilbretta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I haven't baked acorn squash in I don't know how long. I always puncture with fork in three or four places and bake it in the microwave until soft. It is so much easier to cut that way. After I cut it in half and remove the seeds I put the butter and brown sugar in each half and put it back in the microwave on a low setting so it melts together and carmelizing. Another hint is to look for an acorn squash that has a good amount of yellow on it because that means they are riper! (I like my squash a little drier and this provides for that effect.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOOKSROGERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Purchased an Acorn Squash on a whim and we are glad we did! Looked at the suggestions below and opted to microwave for 8 minutes prior to baking. Also added a sprinkle of sea salt in addition to the butter, nutmeg, cinnamon and brown sugar. Such a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms.messyjessi

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Yum, love acorn squash like this in the Fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellacat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
YUMMY! The only thing wrong with this recipe...is there wasn't enough!! Tender, sweet (without being icky). Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I baked them whole for about an hour at 375. Then cut in half with a knife & deseeded! Then baked further for about 10-15 minutes with sugar & butter added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ForeverTERESA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indian Rocks Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Boring. needs salt or something
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khalainCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by loveyourcrockpot
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Tender, yummy, not too sweet...AND easy to make! I added a little water (an inch, maybe?) to the baking dish when I was baking them flesh-down. I skipped the third step...instead, I just turned the squash flesh-side-up, added the yummy things, and put it back in the oven to finish baking. I added cinnamon and nutmeg when I made it, but my husband said it would probably be better without the cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loveyourcrockpot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 467) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States