Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I thought this was really good. I microwaved it for about 10 minutes and then added the brown sugar and butter, then baked it for 25. My daughter was not a fan but then again she does not like squash. My husband and I liked it. Will make it again but may add a pinch of cayanne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I didn't like it.. I preferred eating plain squash instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
My family has made a similar recipe for years! Add cinnamon to the brown sugar, it makes it sooo much better! Cut criss crosses in the squash so the flavors get into it. Also, do NOT put the squash halves back together! That is madness!!! All the flavors would go to the bottom half, and not the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BethTheChef
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This was my first time having acorn squash. I wasn't that impressed especially because the butter & brown sugar flavor was only at the bottom despite me brushing it along the top multiple times throughout baking. That being said, it was a lot of calories for it being a vegetable (I've been trying to experiment w/ healthier options). Next time, I'll forgo the butter and just sprinkle half the amount of brown sugar on it. I took the advice of another reviewer and baked it on 350 for an hour and it cooked perfectly throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I also add a bit of cinnamon and its great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I grew up with the same recipe, but we bake the halves separately, and we add a few slices of bacon in during the cooking:)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Strube

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Pure D heaven.....only used tsp brown sugar and still melted in my mouth.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev Pirtle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diamond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This is a great way to do squash. I have been doing this for years but with a twist. We have squash when I make pork chops. This meal is so easy. Cut squash in half and seed. fill with the brown sugar and butter or use honey if you like. Then take your pork chop and salt n pepper to taste and lay on foil (big enough piece to wrap pork chop and squash. Next put squash on top of pork chop and wrap in you foil. Put in oven and bake for 45 min. to hour depending on chop and size of squash. (350 oven) The chop comes out so moist and the squash is wonderful. Plus this is easy to clean up. I use thick cut Iowa pork chops for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Treadingwell
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This is yummy. I have never had acorn squash before and this was excellent. The only thing I did different was after I turned over the halves I put 1tbsp of butter & 2 tbsp of brown sugar in each half and didn't put them over each other then baked it for 20 mins. It still turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 472) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States