Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I made these yesterday and all of the kids asked for seconds! And so quick and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renetta
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I found doing this recipe was pretty well good the way it was. I only tweaked it a bit. I substituted dark maple syrup (its hard to find, usually at farmers markets or the rare road side stand). It was pretty good, plus I am sure someone else has said it but do NOT put the other half on top and for the love of god criss cross the squash after the initial backing before you at the sugar and butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Doyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Turned out fantastic . Thanks for sharing .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Delhi, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I thought this was really good. I microwaved it for about 10 minutes and then added the brown sugar and butter, then baked it for 25. My daughter was not a fan but then again she does not like squash. My husband and I liked it. Will make it again but may add a pinch of cayanne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I didn't like it.. I preferred eating plain squash instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
My family has made a similar recipe for years! Add cinnamon to the brown sugar, it makes it sooo much better! Cut criss crosses in the squash so the flavors get into it. Also, do NOT put the squash halves back together! That is madness!!! All the flavors would go to the bottom half, and not the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BethTheChef
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This was my first time having acorn squash. I wasn't that impressed especially because the butter & brown sugar flavor was only at the bottom despite me brushing it along the top multiple times throughout baking. That being said, it was a lot of calories for it being a vegetable (I've been trying to experiment w/ healthier options). Next time, I'll forgo the butter and just sprinkle half the amount of brown sugar on it. I took the advice of another reviewer and baked it on 350 for an hour and it cooked perfectly throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I also add a bit of cinnamon and its great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I grew up with the same recipe, but we bake the halves separately, and we add a few slices of bacon in during the cooking:)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Strube

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Pure D heaven.....only used tsp brown sugar and still melted in my mouth.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev Pirtle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 475) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States