Acorn Squash with Sweet Spicy Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I think this is great. I served this with a side of pasta. Are people giving it low stars because it's so easy? I used "Tillamook burn like a ragin' fire sausage" and it was HOT! I love hot but I will try different meat fillings in the future....it will be fun :) Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Made this tonight using 2 large acorn squash, no olive oil (forgot) and 1 pound of mild Italian sausage. I pre-cooked the squash and sausage as per the recipe before picking my husband up from work. I left the squash in the oven (turned off) and the sausage in on the stove (also turned off) and then came home, heated the meat a bit, drained the water off the squash and continued on with the recipe. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This sounds weird but is SOOOO good. I've made it twice. Great dish for cold days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenTrend
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Simple and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emmaus, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I love this! I made it with spicy chicken sausage and it was YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliceF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This dish was amazing! I made sure not to tell my boyfriend what i was making because I knew he wouldnt go for it, a couple bites in and he was ready to know when i would make it again :) We love garlic and onions, so i cooked up some onion with the turkey then added in minced garlic. I also used someone elses idea to add bread crumbs in with the meat. Will definitely make this dish again!!! The sweet and spicy combination is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This is great. My wife who hates squash actually had two servings! I put cheese on two of the halfs to see if it would make a difference. I think we liked it better without the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Student

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I used hot & mild sausage. As I did that I cooked the squash for about an hour because I had a large squash. It was a tad overdone but it was delicious!! I also used parsley. Pretty easy and you can add other ingredients to the dish to spice it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I made this tonight, with the usual personal amendments (I happened to find pork sausage before turkey, and cooked it up in a rather haphazard fashion, then ran short of brown sugar). I'm fairly certain that my shortcomings did not harm this recipe much. It was AMAZING. Just the thing for a cold and windy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Love this! I use hot pork sausage like other reviewers I microwaved the squash for 8-10 min to get them soft then bake for about 15 min, then I throw it under the broiler for a minute or 2 to get the brown sugar caramelized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Floerke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States