Acorn Squash with Sweet Spicy Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Made this tonight using 2 large acorn squash, no olive oil (forgot) and 1 pound of mild Italian sausage. I pre-cooked the squash and sausage as per the recipe before picking my husband up from work. I left the squash in the oven (turned off) and the sausage in on the stove (also turned off) and then came home, heated the meat a bit, drained the water off the squash and continued on with the recipe. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This dish was amazing! I made sure not to tell my boyfriend what i was making because I knew he wouldnt go for it, a couple bites in and he was ready to know when i would make it again :) We love garlic and onions, so i cooked up some onion with the turkey then added in minced garlic. I also used someone elses idea to add bread crumbs in with the meat. Will definitely make this dish again!!! The sweet and spicy combination is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Love this! I use hot pork sausage like other reviewers I microwaved the squash for 8-10 min to get them soft then bake for about 15 min, then I throw it under the broiler for a minute or 2 to get the brown sugar caramelized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Floerke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deana
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This was a delicious recipe. I used hot italian sausage (not turkey). It was awesome! I also served with sour cream on the side for anyone who wanted it. That was delicious as well. Very easy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I think this is great. I served this with a side of pasta. Are people giving it low stars because it's so easy? I used "Tillamook burn like a ragin' fire sausage" and it was HOT! I love hot but I will try different meat fillings in the future....it will be fun :) Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Really delicious. I substituted sugar free maple syrup for brown sugar (better for diabetics), sage pork sausage and about 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes. Of course with pork sausage being used there was no need for the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by louisem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Very easy to do and delcious. This is becoming a staple in our winter recipe collection. So easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Randall-Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I have made this three times since I first discovered recipe in march. Fabulous. 6 thumbs up frome each member of my family. I can't use spicy sausage (yet) because our youngest won't eat spicy foods. So I doctor up seasoned turkey with some cumin and mild chili spices. I made this tonite in honor of our first "fall" dinner....! Very happy family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I love this! I made it with spicy chicken sausage and it was YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliceF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This was not good. I will not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States