Acorn Squash with Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Delicious...but it was missing something...still can't figure out what it is. Will make again in a couple weeks and maybe by then I will figure out what else I'm looking for in this dish. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This was pretty good! Although after several attempts at cooking acorn squash, I finally realized that this particular squash just isn't for my taste buds, prefer the butternut variety much more. The apples however, were to die for; wow they were so good in this recipe! I also found that only 6 minutes in my microwave was sufficient in cooking the ingredients, after stirring I taste tested it and the apples were already soft and tender, no need to pop it back in for another 7 1/2 minutes. Will definitely make this recipe again, but perhaps with a different variety squash or just use apples instead for a sweet treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Seriously. you have to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Bolling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
YAY! The chopping and peeling was WELL worth it. I dabbed with Smart Balance and less sugar but more cinnamon than called for. This was AWESOME. Girls and hubby ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This rates 10 out of 5 stars. It was so good, the two of us ate the whole thing in one sitting (so much for 6 servings!). It is absolutely delicious, with a great texture and appearance. The fact that it's so easy to make.is an added bonus. NOTE: I had to substitute a butternut squash and chopped cashews, but I doubt if it really mattered. It will taste good with just about any winter squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrannyGamer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I omitted the brown sugar because I'm on a silly diet, and even so, this was sweet and delicious! Oh, I also used pecans instead of walnuts because they were all I had on hand. Thanks for a simple, delicious and pretty healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CalgaryJosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I absolutely loved this recipe! I have tried acorn squash many times and could not choke it down! This is great! My kids loved it! I wouldn't change a thing! It's the perfect way to get your yellow vegetable on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
My DH and I thought it was awesome. My 2 and 4 year didn't fall for the squash. They picked it out and ate everything else. Previous reviewers that related this recipe to apple pie, were right on. It did remind me of apple pie! I cut the butter down a little and it was still GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I served this to a group of picky eaters at Thanksgiving, and they all loved it. In fact, some of them thought it was almost dessert-like. What a great side dish. I will make making this again at Christmas for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MellowDee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Felt like tic-tac-toe in my mouth, the mild acorn squash and the tangy apples were in constant alternation. my easy suggestion: melt the butter & honey (instead of sugar), stir into prepped veggies along with dry ingredients. cover & microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple City, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States