Acorn Squash with Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
yummy! i also added cranberries and some cloves. what a great side dish for a fall meal! without the microwave, it takes about 10-15 minutes to get just right in a cast-iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren & Joel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving and my kids loved it!! I baked mine in the oven after cutting it in half and scooping out the seeds and sprinkled a bit of brown sugar on it. I added one apple and one pear and I puree my squash and then put it back in the oven for 15 mins. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Used honey crisp apples. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Pretty good! I ended up adding a more brown sugar but other than that I followed the recipe and we ate it up. And the fact that I can microwave this... priceless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I added cranberries to this and put it in the oven. It was delicious! I'm considering making this for Thankgiving. I just can't decide whether to serve it as a dessert or a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I'm not a fan of acorn squash but this was delish. I made it twice this week to use up some squash from the garden. Thanks for sharing. Didn't change a thing either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I LOVE this and have made it a few times before, my babies both adore it and can't get enough, even my squash hating husband appreciates it! One thing I JUST discovered tonight though, in baking in the oven, the author insisted on adding 1/4 cup to the ingredients before baking. I think she may be referring to this for baking WITHOUT a cover! I always put a cover on my stuff (otherwise the oven will singe everything), and adding the water made my mix super soupy. I'll still gobble it down, but I prefer its consistency to that which you get in the microwave. Next time I bake I'll leave the water out unless I bake uncovered! Yummy yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
it is not exceptional in flavour to my taste, but it is a really healthy snack that you can do in a snap and it is very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Delicious...but it was missing something...still can't figure out what it is. Will make again in a couple weeks and maybe by then I will figure out what else I'm looking for in this dish. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This was pretty good! Although after several attempts at cooking acorn squash, I finally realized that this particular squash just isn't for my taste buds, prefer the butternut variety much more. The apples however, were to die for; wow they were so good in this recipe! I also found that only 6 minutes in my microwave was sufficient in cooking the ingredients, after stirring I taste tested it and the apples were already soft and tender, no need to pop it back in for another 7 1/2 minutes. Will definitely make this recipe again, but perhaps with a different variety squash or just use apples instead for a sweet treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States