Acorn Squash with Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Very good & surprisingly filling. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I'm making this for the first time right now, but I'm anticipating 5 stars. I love the tip on peeling the squash, but instead of a knife I used my potato peeler, which also got into the grooves really well. I did discover I'd run out of cinnamon over the holidays, so there's a little cinnamon, but I ended up using some pumpkin pie spice. I think it should add something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karyl Griffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Dare I say I liked this microwave version better than roasting in the oven? It's actually a bit more work to have to boil and peel it, but I think this method makes it much easier to scoop out all the strings. I made this a couple of times as is, then added raisins the last time. All very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Great recipe! Made this for Thanksgiving and turned out very well. Everyone was pleased. A note on peeling squash - it is very helpful to boil the squash first. At least 15 minutes - I did mine 20 minutes and about 10 minutes in the cold water bath. This recipe can be made ahead of time. if making the night before, just take it out of the frig about an hour or so before baking in a pre-heated oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barnesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shadyside, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I made it with butternut squash and used pecans as that's what I had. It was good; not too sweet. I served it as dessert; served warm with a dollop of whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Good flavor, but a somewhat unpleasant texture. I might like it better if it were mashed/creamed? I'll have to experiment with it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
A simply wonderful veggie side dish! The recipe was doubled (except for the salt), baked in the oven in a covered casserole at 375 F. I've made this many times now, and have peeled the squash two ways - as directed in this recipe, which works well, and cut into wedges and peeled with a vegetable peeler. Personally, the vegetable peeler works best for me. It has been served chunky and blended together. Craisins have been added as well several times, which adds a nice tartness to it. We haven’t had any leftovers regardless of how it is prepared, have shared the recipe and get requests for making it! It’s a keeper! Will try a savory version of this recipe in the near future too, and will report back. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Everyone enjoyed this dish at Thanksgiving. I had a butternut squash that needed to be used. I followed the same directions to soften the skin and then used a peeler to remove it. I used pecans because that's what I had in the freezer. I had one gala apple and one red delicious. The gala apple looked prettier after cooking, but the two different kinds complimented each other well. I did double the butter, nuts, and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Though good, it's not worth the effort, we like baked acorn squash better just as well or better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
For health and safety, NEVER put plastic in the microwave. Study after study has shown that once heated, the plastic molecules will seep into the food and are cancer causing. I would highly recommend baking this recipe (and any recipe that includes plastic in the microwave) in a conventional oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States