Acorn Squash with Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Super yummy - almost like dessert on your dinner plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Made this for Thanksgiving and I was really disappointed. It tasted bland and boring so I kept adding more brown sugar and butter until it was practically floating in it. Then I tried to heat it in a saucepan to thicken it into a glaze, but that didn't really work out. I guess I was expecting the sugar to form a glaze and infuse the butternut squash with sweetness and taste less squashy but it didn't. I wish I had tried this before debuting at Thanksgiving dinner but it sounded like it would be such a sure thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Really tasty and a great way to get squash into your diet without a lot of butter and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Thanks for the tip on peeling the squash! Worked like a charm, except for the tail of the squash which refused to stay underwater. As for the recipe, it was ok, sweet more like a dessert than a side. And it actually tasted much better the next day, after the flavors had melded more. Right out of the microwave it tasted strongly like squash, with little apple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Very good & surprisingly filling. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I'm making this for the first time right now, but I'm anticipating 5 stars. I love the tip on peeling the squash, but instead of a knife I used my potato peeler, which also got into the grooves really well. I did discover I'd run out of cinnamon over the holidays, so there's a little cinnamon, but I ended up using some pumpkin pie spice. I think it should add something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karyl Griffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Dare I say I liked this microwave version better than roasting in the oven? It's actually a bit more work to have to boil and peel it, but I think this method makes it much easier to scoop out all the strings. I made this a couple of times as is, then added raisins the last time. All very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Great recipe! Made this for Thanksgiving and turned out very well. Everyone was pleased. A note on peeling squash - it is very helpful to boil the squash first. At least 15 minutes - I did mine 20 minutes and about 10 minutes in the cold water bath. This recipe can be made ahead of time. if making the night before, just take it out of the frig about an hour or so before baking in a pre-heated oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barnesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shadyside, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I made it with butternut squash and used pecans as that's what I had. It was good; not too sweet. I served it as dessert; served warm with a dollop of whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Good flavor, but a somewhat unpleasant texture. I might like it better if it were mashed/creamed? I'll have to experiment with it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States