Acorn Squash with Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
So good! tastes like a dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Great recipe, I made it tonight and it was quick, and easy. This is the first time I cooked acorn squash. I bought it earlier this week and just couldn't pick a recipe. Since the great tip on peeling, I used yours and am so glad I did. Next time I will add nutmeg and vanilla. Thanks so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bettyann
Living In: Sharon Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Delicious & Nutritious! I microwave the whole squash for about 5 minutes so I can cut it in half and just add the ingredients, makes a pretty presentation. I chop the apples, use craisins, a tsp of cinnamon and a little nutmeg. pecans are also great in this if you don't have walnuts. love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joanbone

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe, and I'm not huge squash fan. Borrowing from other reviews, I modified the cooking method slightly: I mixed all the spices together; added a diced apple and mixed to cover; added a tbsp of melted butter and tossed the mixture so that everything was "wet." Stuffed back into the halved acorn squash, and baked in a 400-degree oven uncovered for 30 and then covered for 30. Probably could have gone in for less, but I was happy with how it turned out. Served with a couscous salad with curry, turmeric, apple and golden raisins (not on this site) - perfect fall meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Very good. Perfect for a fall meal. Doubled the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This was a good recipe, but we felt the squash needed something else. We're not big squash eaters. The other ingredients sounded like they'd make this a great dish but it just wasn't that great for us. Will try it again with maybe more brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
great! i boiled it as suggested, which cut down on the cook time later. only need about 10 min total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Baked this at 375 for 45 min in a corningware dish and it came out amazing. Tasted like a dessert. My roommate actually ate about 3 helpings of the dish (finishing it). Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
A tasty, healthy dessert. Used pecans instead of walnuts and was impressed with the flavor. An excellent blend of harvest flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Very good. Only needed to be microwaved half as long as stated though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States