Acorn Squash with Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
A simply wonderful veggie side dish! The recipe was doubled (except for the salt), baked in the oven in a covered casserole at 375 F. I've made this many times now, and have peeled the squash two ways - as directed in this recipe, which works well, and cut into wedges and peeled with a vegetable peeler. Personally, the vegetable peeler works best for me. It has been served chunky and blended together. Craisins have been added as well several times, which adds a nice tartness to it. We haven’t had any leftovers regardless of how it is prepared, have shared the recipe and get requests for making it! It’s a keeper! Will try a savory version of this recipe in the near future too, and will report back. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Everyone enjoyed this dish at Thanksgiving. I had a butternut squash that needed to be used. I followed the same directions to soften the skin and then used a peeler to remove it. I used pecans because that's what I had in the freezer. I had one gala apple and one red delicious. The gala apple looked prettier after cooking, but the two different kinds complimented each other well. I did double the butter, nuts, and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Though good, it's not worth the effort, we like baked acorn squash better just as well or better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
For health and safety, NEVER put plastic in the microwave. Study after study has shown that once heated, the plastic molecules will seep into the food and are cancer causing. I would highly recommend baking this recipe (and any recipe that includes plastic in the microwave) in a conventional oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I love acorn squash, but my 2 young kids aren't a fan unless mixed with apple. I usually puree the two, but this is a nice change (be careful not to overcook the squash). Added extra apple for the kids, but will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Virginia, USA
Living In: Southlake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Love this recipe because it gives directions on how to chop acorn squash easily. It is hard to get acorn chunks for roasting, etc. Most of the time, you cook it and have to puree or mush it up. This process works great! Since we got a bumper crop of acorn squash from our CSA this year, I am looking for ways to eat this wonderful veg. Roasting will be yummy. Thanks for the critical tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by ildefonso
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I love winter squash and this is a great way to blend fall flavors! I used all the ingredients but just like another reviewer I left the squash whole and stuffed it. I roasted it and it came out tender and full of taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
First of all, THANK YOU for the peeling the acorn squash tip!!! That was awesome! I loved this recipe. It just tasted like fall. Nice nutty squash with sweet apples and a titch of cinnamon. Deliciousl! I made a double batch but in 2 separate bowls - one with nuts and one without for non-nutty daughter. Both were equally good. Keep an eye on your squash. Depending on how fast your squash cooks on the stove, 15 minutes in the microwave may be too much or not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This was good. I have never had acorn squash before, but I liked it cooked this way. I did bake in the oven according to the alternative directions. It smelled the house up like apple pie. I used a white acorn squash because I wasn't sure which one to buy. They are small so the apple chunks far outnumbered the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
A very tasty way to serve squash. Even my friend who usually detests squash thought this smelled so good that he tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States