Acorn Squash with Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I liked this. The apples and sugar added a nice sweetness to the squash, without being too sweet. The tip for peeling the squash was helpful as well, even though I'm not daunted by the skin myself. I somewhat prefer the flavor you get from traditional roasting, but if you want a quick and easy way to prepare squash, this is the one to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAINTARTAUD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
My family did not like this one. They liked the apples, but ate around the squash. They did not like the texture or the flavor. Easy to fix though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
I love sweets so I can't believe I am going to say this, but this was too sweet. Maybe it was a kind of apples I used (Harleson). I don't know if I'll make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I added chorizo and breadcrumb and more savory spices. Good, not great; it taster quite healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
YAAA!!! I got my kids to eat Squash!! They thought it tasted like a dessert. Very Good. Thank you soooo much on the tip to peeling the squash. The peel almost fell off the squash. Will make again, great for a fall side dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
I usually only make acorn squash one way-- whipped with butter and brown sugar. I really liked the change of texture with this recipe and the addition of cinnamon and apple. I kept the nuts out becuase my husband doesn't like them. Loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Maybe my expectations were too high from reading the other reviews, but this dish was nothing special. It was not sweet enough and did not have a lot of flavor - and I like squash. Maybe the squash I used was too big - I did add some extra butter and sugar, but it wasn't enough. I did throw in some dried cherries I had on hand to spice it up, and those were a nice touch. Also, I used the peeling suggestion, but the task of peeling a squash was still rather daunting. If I make this again, I will use this as a stuffing and bake the squash in the oven, b/c peeling it is too much work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABALONE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kidron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Very good! I followed the recipe for the ingredients but just filled halved acorn squash with the ingredients and roasted in the oven at 375 (covered for half of the time) until the squash was tender. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This was a great squash recipe. My husband absolutely loved it. I almost felt guilty eating it during supper since it tasted like it could have been a dessert. Next time I may add raisins to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I would have given this recipe five stars for the peeling tip alone. As one reviewer's son said "taste like the inside of an apple pie." I ate the left over's for breakfast. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chesapeake Baybe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shenandoah, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Beach, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States