Acorn Squash with Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This is the ONLY squash I could get my girls to eat! A big hit in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Awesome alternative way to eat squash. The peel method worked awesome. I changed it up a little bit by adding another tablespoon of butter, another tablespoon of brown sugar, nutmeg, and at the end I mashed them. The kids thought they were eating "applesauce" instead of "yucky" squash. This is a great fall side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
Turned out great - I used twice as much butter instead (2 T.) Was my husband's first time trying squash and he went back for seconds. He chose to add more brown sugar as he was eating it, but I liked mine just as it was. A tasty change from the ordinary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This was wonderful! It's important to use a squash that's ripe and not too big, because I've found that bigger ones aren't really sweet, and under or overripe ones are stringy and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
YUM! I only had one apple so I used some applesauce as well and it was great! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
This is excellent. I love squash and this is a great recipe. I bet you could make it with sweet potatoes too. I didn't have any walnuts, but I added a few sliced prunes. Next time I will dice the apples because they were hard to stir in consistently. My 2 year old wouldn't try it (yet), but I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Louisville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
My boyfriend and I did not care for this recipe. I really enjoy pumpkin, and since pumpkin is a member of the squash family, I thought I might enjoy a "sweetened" acorn squash dish. Unfortunately, we did not like the flavor it gave the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I completely enjoyed this recipe. It is an ingenious idea way to get squash past your kid's plate. It worked. I did combine two recipes, however. This one and "Orange Baked Acorn Squash". Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chouli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solna, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Just lovely. I have some food allergies, and I'm always trying to find different recipes - and this one is a keeper. I made it, loved it and immediately sent it on to mom for her to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I loved this squash - and the peeling tip was brilliant! We'll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States