Acorn Squash with Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This was good, but I think we would have liked it a bit sweeter. Even with cinnamon, nutmeg, and brown sugar, it didn't have much flavor. I will probably try making it again with some changes. Boiling the squash is a great idea though and worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bwmn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
This was so good my children thought it was a desert and couldn't get enough. It is now a staple of our Thanksgiving dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margot Lucas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Wonderful. A Thanksgiving favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
a fun way to eat squash and the kids like it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
My picky youngest even liked! I didnt' have time to boil and peel (I would have preferred that method), I peeled what I could w/ a sharp veggie peeler then when I cut into small pieces I sliced along crevices and peeled that - it didn't take too long (less time than other method but more frustrating and difficult!). It needed a little more salt and it turned out a bit dry- I would add a little water when microwaving AND I had to add more cooking time. I prefer roasting and will go that route when I have more time to cook this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
The flavor of this dish was good, but I would suggest adding a few extra walnuts at the end beause they blended in too much for me. I like the crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This is ok. Mine came out too soft and mushy, kinda of like pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I had a dinner party last year and this was a hit. Every one was asking for the recipe. It is easy, yet hard to mess-up. This year everyone is asking when they can come over for diner again.. Ex..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Tasty and easy. I might try popping it in the oven for a few minutes next time I make this to make it carmelize. Nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeLee222

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cliffside Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Cutting the squash into cubes sure beats baking halves in the oven. I like the way the other ingredients soak into the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States