Acorn Squash with Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I don't think we really liked this recipe the way it was written. The prep time is a little misleading because it takes a bit of time to peel the squash after it has been boiled. By that time I could have roasted it in the oven and cut it into chunks and I think the flavor would have been much better. The squash and apple was bland and watery tasting. It just reminds me why I don't like to 'cook' things in the microwave. I don't feel like it really saved any time and the flavor was lacking. I DO think this recipe is worth a shot in the oven though and will try it again that way. Thanks for a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RioChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saxtons River, Vermont, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
OUTSTANDING! I was a little unsure about cooking in the microwave as I only use the microwave to reheat food the next day but this was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Delicious and colorful! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Fantastic recipe. I used the oven method and it turned out tender, glazed and delicious. Even my kids (ages 4 & 2) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRISHFLYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis Park, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Clayton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
To Die For
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This is so easy and yummy! I made it with three small acorn squash, three granny smith apples, and doubled the rest of the ingredients to make eight nice servings. It's sweet and tasty. The squash boiling is briliant and is totally the tip to this working so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Pleasantly surprised by the yummy-ness of this recipe. The apples go great with the squash and add sweetness. Doubled all the ingredients expect for the brown sugar and the recipe turned out great. The peeling method was also quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
3 1/2 stars I followed the recipe to a T. It was good; texture, sweetness, instructions were on the mark. I gave it 3 1/2 stars because even though we liked it, we didn't LOVE it. It was a nice, easy recipe to try and it gave use a different vegetable side dish to eat. (I used Granny Smith apples)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by family of five

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Tasty! Despite the tips, the squash was still a major pain to chop and peel. Not sure if I will go through the trouble again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bubilina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States