Acorn Squash with Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Yummy! Used red delicious apples. Make apple chunks the same size as squash. Add more pecans (walnuts) and cinnamon. Didn't take as long to microwave as recipe indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was very good, but it could use more flavor. I added a little more cinnamon and like someone else's review I added some nutmeg, but it still needed something more. I'll be tweaking the next time I make it, but it's a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Montour Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Very tasty. My 4 year old, finicky daughter over it. My only complaint was that the prep time was longer than expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Just wanted to update this review... Still had some leftover and I was looking for a dessert type thing. So.. I made some oatmeal and added this on top with a little whipped cream. It was delicious We really loved this! Took the suggestions and added maple syrup. Also used some "splenda" instead of brown sugar. The boiling method to remove skin was great.. worked well :-) Very easy and really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOAN2005

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This was good. Not the best though. It needs something.. maybe more brown sugar/cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill and Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Macomb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I used honey butter instead of regular butter and it gave it just a smidge more sweetness. Thanks for the tips on peeling the squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Simple easy and delicious. I added a little more sugar for my sweet tooth, but hey I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Awesome is all I have to say! Well, and I will also mention that I used this recipe to make my very first acorn squash, and it has left me in love with them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma2kinsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Quick, easy and delicious. Adding this for Thanksgiving dinner. Made just like the recipe says (maybe a tad extra butter and brown sugar)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
this was outrageously good! it's good as a side dish AND maybe i'm weird, but i put icecream on it and had it for dessert, too. really, it tastes like crust-less apple pie. my only changes were in the interest of health: instead of brown sugar, i used 2 tb splenda and 1 tb sugar free maple syrup. i also used lite "i can't believe it's not butter." it still tasted amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States