Acorn Squash with Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Excellent recipe. I made it exactly as described, except I used a little extra brown sugar & cinnamon because I had a HUGE acorn squash from the garden. Next time I might do two things different. I'l leave out the butter, which really isn't critical to the recipe and I prefer to cook without fat. I might also try adding some raisins, which should plump up nicely in the cooking juices. Thanks so much for this simple, tasty recipe! I plan to make it for Thanksgiving this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This is really yummy. A quick version when you have less time or don't want to go to all the work---half your squash, clean it out and bake in oven til tender, or microwave. Fill cavities with apple pie filling and bake another 10-15 minutes. Delish! My 11 year old will even eat this--an entire half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
We love this recipe! I sometimes make it just as the recipe says, (except I use brown Splenda to cut the carbs, as I am diabetic, and salt substiture.) I also serve the same basic recipe, but just cut the squash in half, add the apples and walnuts with the sugar mixture and bake the halves in the oven. Either way, it is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was a great recipe for squash. The only downside (for me) is the prep. I used a veggie peeler to take the skin off, since I didn't want to wait 20 mintues just to peel it. Otherwise, it tasted really good, with a mixture of brown sugar, maple syrup and honey. It did take a bit longer than an hour for the squash to bake up tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Yummy! Used red delicious apples. Make apple chunks the same size as squash. Add more pecans (walnuts) and cinnamon. Didn't take as long to microwave as recipe indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was very good, but it could use more flavor. I added a little more cinnamon and like someone else's review I added some nutmeg, but it still needed something more. I'll be tweaking the next time I make it, but it's a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Montour Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Very tasty. My 4 year old, finicky daughter over it. My only complaint was that the prep time was longer than expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Just wanted to update this review... Still had some leftover and I was looking for a dessert type thing. So.. I made some oatmeal and added this on top with a little whipped cream. It was delicious We really loved this! Took the suggestions and added maple syrup. Also used some "splenda" instead of brown sugar. The boiling method to remove skin was great.. worked well :-) Very easy and really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOAN2005

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This was good. Not the best though. It needs something.. maybe more brown sugar/cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill and Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Macomb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I used honey butter instead of regular butter and it gave it just a smidge more sweetness. Thanks for the tips on peeling the squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States