Acorn Squash Wonder Tacos/Chalupas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
very nice change of pace from the standard (american/) mexican fare. i think some lime juice and fresh cilantro on top of it would be really great. probably will make it again sometime, but i didn't love it enough to spend all this time grating the squash again, for it to become a frequent meal in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I made this recipe as written and it was delicious! A few days later I wanted to make it again but peeling the acorn squash was so difficult that I decided to omit it and used a sweet potato instead. I also didn't have another serrano chile so I used canned chopped green chiles. And since I was out of eggs, I substituted flax seed and a few tablespoons water. And it was still great! Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Surprising use of acorn squash yielding a savory delight. This recipe is now our second favorite taco recipe (right below "Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle-Lime Dressing"). I'm so glad we tried this! I prepped the acorn squash for peeling by poking holes in it (as you would for a potato) and microwaving it for 3 minutes. Peeling took a while and grating took a while, so for us it was at least more like an hour start to finish. This is worth the effort though, we will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Honestly, it didn't sound appetizing in the least (you should have seen the look of unenthusiasm on my husband's face when I told him what we were having for dinner), but WOW is it yummy! He requests it over and over again! We made quick work of shredding the squash by using a food processor, otherwise you risk losing a fingertip or two. We've also made the tomato and avocado into guac and used that as a topping and it was yummy as well! This one's a definite keeper :) Thanks so much for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedHeadMandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Loved these! Didn't miss the meat at all! Could have been a bit more zippy, but I attribute that to some "cool" peppers. Great recipe - worth the work to peel the squash. Definite make again recipe - thank you Becky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Fernandez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Hand shredding the squash was a pain, but absolutely worth the effort. My kids didn't know that there wasn't any meat in the recipe and asked for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This was so tasty. The store was out of acorn squash so we used a small butternut squash and it was awesome. I did not "fry" them, just a smidge of olive oil in a pan and they cooked nicely. I also forgot about the cheese entirely (until we ate the left overs) and it was still delicious. My husband liked them with a bit of taco sauce on top. A great recipe Thank you Becky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This was incredibly delicious!! I made a few changes. 1) I used coconut oil. I NEVER use canola. EVER. 2) I added about 4-5 cloves of fresh garlic. 3) Used brown rice tortilla. 3. Used rice "cheese". We are vegetarian, but I still eat eggs, so I did not change that up.This did take some time to prepare everything, but it cooked up rather quick, and easy. And was just delicious. I also added some sweet chili pepper sauce to top off the flavors!! This is amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States