Achiote Paste Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
This is the same recipe from Once Upon a Time in Mexico. I've made it a bunch of times, and given out the recipe to everyone who's tasted it! When you cook the pork, make sure to marinade at least a few hours, and then wrap VERY tightly in foil, otherwise it'll dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADBALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
This version of the classic recipe is very similar to the one used in the director Robert Rodriguez' Puerco Pibil recipe (see the 10 Minute Cooking School segment in the extras of the Once a Time in Mexico DVD). Makes a big difference to make it from scratch rather than using the packaged stuff - mmmmm - I'm hungry now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDRE3000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I'm from where the Cochinita Pibils Originates,and I was happy to find this recipe. I have made it so many times I lost count, everybody in my family like it and my sister and brother say it the same taste they remember. I'll give the recipe 5 star. I just wish the Ingredients were ground and not whole. Thank You for sharing your Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
This review is written at stage 2 after "blend until smooth" using food processor (so, prior to adding lemon juice). I have a liquid slurry, nothing resembling paste. Disappointing after spending the time to powder the seeds in a mortar following the electric spice mill treatment. My bad for not checking other sources before starting -- the 5 star review here biased my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Very nice recipe. I love the mix of the ingredients. I think to perfectly balance it for my taste buds next time I will leave out one of the lemons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danyul

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This recipe is absolutely wrong. There is WAY too much liquid in here to get a paste. I am about to try again with 1/2T orange juice, 1/2T vinegar, juice from 1 lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I used 1/2 the lemons and measured correctly. And I have liquid. I knew in my heart it was not going to work out. Very frustrating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I was starting to take notes from Robert Rodriguez's Once Upon a Time in Mexico with intentions of uploading the recipe when I discovered u beat me to it! Now I'm gonna have to go kill the cook. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Great recipe and saved my as i needed achiote paste for a recipe but couldn't find it in the mexican markets, but was able to make this. As the other reviewers noted, there is way too much liquid in the initial ingredient list..... I did not even read the reviews until after making it, and the marinade i needed the achiote paste for....... If you want/need a thick paste, USE LESS LIQUID. This is what I did and it turned out good. I would imagine the Original recipe might work good on its own as a marinade or seasoning sauce? The ingredients give a fantastic flavor. Just use less and more as needed, and for your taste. 5 stars. Thank you AG. Notes: Works well without the tequila. Subbed the lemons for lime (much less as been discussed) Used fresh squeezed orange and lime juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Ignore the reviews that say it is too liquidy. It is suppose to be. If it wasn't, it would be impossible to spread it all over the meat during the marinade process. I put the meat in a bag and pour this over and massage it all over the meat with my fingers. The liquid gets sealed in with the meat during cooking as well, and is there when it's done. It gets worse as all the fat melts off the meat and during serving I simply fork out meat from a very juicy base. I serve this over rice. This is one of my own top 5 dishes for many years since I saw the movie all the other reviews refer to as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States