Achiote Paste Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
this definitely isn't a paste.. instead i cut the recipe in half and used it as a marinade for 10 large drumsticks.. i was expecting more and am not sure what i did wrong.. i did sub kosher salt for the regular table salt.. i also only used 1 lime instead of the 2.5 lemons it called for as other people were saying they reduced theirs with positive results.. maybe it's b/c i only marinated this for 3.5 hours.. i don't know :( should i have saved the marinade, boiled it, and used it to baste as we grilled the drumsticks? i hate to second guess myself so much but i really wanted to love this.. it's always fun to try something new but i don't know if i want to give this another try.. it was okay.. i just wanted more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
This worked for me and tasted amazing, but I did tweak the amount of liquid. I could only find annatto powder (in Australia, try your local Asian style grocery), so used three tablespoons of that. I'm lazy, and the measuring cup needed washing, so used the juice of one large orange, two fairly juicy lemons and added enough vinegar (apple cider in my case, as I'd run out of white) to make a thick slurry. I ignored the tequila component, as I do not have any alcohol and figured one teaspoon could make no detectable difference. Marinaded tofu and tempeh in it, grilled to a delicious fragrant and delicious taco filling. Served four ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This recipe is awesome! the only problem is that it mentions being a paste, but the original recipe dear readers is not a paste. why do you think the recipe for cochinita calls for liquid? it's because you must reconstitute a paste that was manufactured for your. Kind of using compressed chicken flavored cubes with MSG instead of brewing a real pot of what your grandma used to make for you when you were sick. My Aunt will make the best cochinita I've ever tried... and she makes it from scratch... like this recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adolfo Meza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Great recipe and saved my as i needed achiote paste for a recipe but couldn't find it in the mexican markets, but was able to make this. As the other reviewers noted, there is way too much liquid in the initial ingredient list..... I did not even read the reviews until after making it, and the marinade i needed the achiote paste for....... If you want/need a thick paste, USE LESS LIQUID. This is what I did and it turned out good. I would imagine the Original recipe might work good on its own as a marinade or seasoning sauce? The ingredients give a fantastic flavor. Just use less and more as needed, and for your taste. 5 stars. Thank you AG. Notes: Works well without the tequila. Subbed the lemons for lime (much less as been discussed) Used fresh squeezed orange and lime juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Excellent! But you MUST make some adjustments as the liquid requirements called for will produce a slurry not a paste. Halved the liquid (juices, etc.) portion and then only added it in sparingly as I was doing the blending. That way I controlled the consistency I wanted -- which is a paste to use as a concentrated flavoring for other recipes. I ended up using only a few tablespoons of the liquid total. This was excellent for a Cohito Piblo recipe (also on allrecipes) but I used a much smaller amount than called for. This is a concentrated flavoring, thus I put what was left over into a small freezer container and have been able to just scoop out the tblsp or so I'll need for a recipe -- perfect! Also, I used whole spices, including Annato and the Annato only mildly stained the clear plastic top of my spice grinder. I highly recommend using whole spices and grinding them at home if you can. The aroma itself from freshly ground spices can take you away and fill your kitchen! It brought my partner out of his study --- following his nose! Highly recommend with my suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
the taste is great, but the ratios were off. As the others have said, completely liquid...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Ignore the reviews that say it is too liquidy. It is suppose to be. If it wasn't, it would be impossible to spread it all over the meat during the marinade process. I put the meat in a bag and pour this over and massage it all over the meat with my fingers. The liquid gets sealed in with the meat during cooking as well, and is there when it's done. It gets worse as all the fat melts off the meat and during serving I simply fork out meat from a very juicy base. I serve this over rice. This is one of my own top 5 dishes for many years since I saw the movie all the other reviews refer to as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Thank you for providing the recipe (I know it as "recardo") and thank you for the helpful reviews. This seasoning paste is an essential ingredient for my cooking this year and I knew if I couldn't find the product the recipe would be out there on the 'net. Happy cooking :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I made this tonight for dinner... my family loved it. A keeper for sure. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This recipe is absolutely wrong. There is WAY too much liquid in here to get a paste. I am about to try again with 1/2T orange juice, 1/2T vinegar, juice from 1 lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States