Achiote Paste Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This recipe is awesome! the only problem is that it mentions being a paste, but the original recipe dear readers is not a paste. why do you think the recipe for cochinita calls for liquid? it's because you must reconstitute a paste that was manufactured for your. Kind of using compressed chicken flavored cubes with MSG instead of brewing a real pot of what your grandma used to make for you when you were sick. My Aunt will make the best cochinita I've ever tried... and she makes it from scratch... like this recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adolfo Meza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Great recipe and saved my as i needed achiote paste for a recipe but couldn't find it in the mexican markets, but was able to make this. As the other reviewers noted, there is way too much liquid in the initial ingredient list..... I did not even read the reviews until after making it, and the marinade i needed the achiote paste for....... If you want/need a thick paste, USE LESS LIQUID. This is what I did and it turned out good. I would imagine the Original recipe might work good on its own as a marinade or seasoning sauce? The ingredients give a fantastic flavor. Just use less and more as needed, and for your taste. 5 stars. Thank you AG. Notes: Works well without the tequila. Subbed the lemons for lime (much less as been discussed) Used fresh squeezed orange and lime juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Excellent! But you MUST make some adjustments as the liquid requirements called for will produce a slurry not a paste. Halved the liquid (juices, etc.) portion and then only added it in sparingly as I was doing the blending. That way I controlled the consistency I wanted -- which is a paste to use as a concentrated flavoring for other recipes. I ended up using only a few tablespoons of the liquid total. This was excellent for a Cohito Piblo recipe (also on allrecipes) but I used a much smaller amount than called for. This is a concentrated flavoring, thus I put what was left over into a small freezer container and have been able to just scoop out the tblsp or so I'll need for a recipe -- perfect! Also, I used whole spices, including Annato and the Annato only mildly stained the clear plastic top of my spice grinder. I highly recommend using whole spices and grinding them at home if you can. The aroma itself from freshly ground spices can take you away and fill your kitchen! It brought my partner out of his study --- following his nose! Highly recommend with my suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
the taste is great, but the ratios were off. As the others have said, completely liquid...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Ignore the reviews that say it is too liquidy. It is suppose to be. If it wasn't, it would be impossible to spread it all over the meat during the marinade process. I put the meat in a bag and pour this over and massage it all over the meat with my fingers. The liquid gets sealed in with the meat during cooking as well, and is there when it's done. It gets worse as all the fat melts off the meat and during serving I simply fork out meat from a very juicy base. I serve this over rice. This is one of my own top 5 dishes for many years since I saw the movie all the other reviews refer to as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Thank you for providing the recipe (I know it as "recardo") and thank you for the helpful reviews. This seasoning paste is an essential ingredient for my cooking this year and I knew if I couldn't find the product the recipe would be out there on the 'net. Happy cooking :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I made this tonight for dinner... my family loved it. A keeper for sure. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This recipe is absolutely wrong. There is WAY too much liquid in here to get a paste. I am about to try again with 1/2T orange juice, 1/2T vinegar, juice from 1 lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I used 1/2 the lemons and measured correctly. And I have liquid. I knew in my heart it was not going to work out. Very frustrating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
This review is written at stage 2 after "blend until smooth" using food processor (so, prior to adding lemon juice). I have a liquid slurry, nothing resembling paste. Disappointing after spending the time to powder the seeds in a mortar following the electric spice mill treatment. My bad for not checking other sources before starting -- the 5 star review here biased my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States