Acapulco Margarita Grouper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I liked the marinade, but I didn't like the grouper. I'll try this again with tilapia. I'll probably reduce the triple sec, too--it was a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Most of the reviewers are correct - this is a winner. I'm surprised by the people who would use Grand Marnier in a recipe with a the name 'Margarita'. Who uses GM for this drink?? Triple Sec or Cointreaux are much more suitable and have the right flavor. Husband was wild about this dish. I'm not a great Grouper fan-bland, boring tasting fish very popular(and expensive)here in S.W FL. Very tasty and easy and may make it again,however, I tend to search out new and different dishes all the time, so . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I would have suggested marinating this longer for more flavor. I also used Captain Morgan's spiced rum which cut through the tartness of the lime juice and worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This is quite good! I used mahi-mahi and had to place in the broiler due to the change in weather. The next time I plan to follow the previous reviews and grill. I believe that by cooking it this way will seriously put this recipe over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
The only thing I did differently was I used Chilean Sea Bass - I couldn't find grouper. It was so delicious. The salsa was pretty spicy - and I like spicy - but next time, I think I will use half a jalapeno. Other than the change in fish, I followed everything to a 'T'. Highly recommended. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LODOM42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
Hmm. I marinated the fish (tilapia) for about 40 minutes and you couldn't taste the marinade at all. It was good, and the salsa was fantastic, but it was a bummer about the marinade. Buying a bottle of Grand Marnier and good Tequila isn't cheap and so having it not really soak in was sad. I added a little bit of salt and pepper to the salsa and snacked on it while I was waiting for the fish to grill. My guests liked that quite a bit! :) Overall, good, not amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This certainly didn't have the flavor I expe cted from all the excellent reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Excellent! just love it! the sauce gives it the perfect sour/tart flavor to the fish, while the salsa gives it that clean tast but still at the sametime flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
This was absolutely delicious!!! It did taste like a restaurant meal. We served the marinade & salsa on the side because we weren't sure of how it would taste. I only used 1/2 of a pepper & it was plenty hot enough. I've been telling everyone about the recipe, can't wait to serve it to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
This was a very tasty fish dish. It was like something you would get at a restaurant. Did not use the orange liquer as I didn't have any. I think the salsa was a lot, so next time I might scale it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno and Cucumber Margarita

Spicy & refreshing, this amazing marg’s infused with hot pepper & cool cucumber.

Margarita Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender shake the perfect margarita.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States