Acapulco Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
This was GREAT! It took a little while to do but well worth the time. I added garlic and sour cream. The sour cream is a must. It made a delicious rich sauce. Without it dish was a little dry. Thought I made enough for leftovers, -- wrong, all gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Definitely a keeper for a busy weeknight or lazy weekend! Made a number of tweaks only because I like to have alot different flavors blending in my food: 28 ounce can fire roasted tomatoes instead of fresh chopped tomato; 3 garlic cloves minced; 3tbs chili powder instead of 1; first seasoned chicken with adobo powder; add 1 packet chicken bouillon in powder form; 1 teaspoon dried crushed oregano; 1 teaspoon ground cumin; and 1 chopped zucchini or squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ds R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sabana Grande, Sabana Grande, Puerto Rico
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
I love this recipe! It's so fast and easy, not to mention colorful and delicious! The only modifications I make are using red peppers instead of green, adding garlic, and topping it off with melted mozzarella cheese. Otherwise it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
This recipe was a quick and easy dish, that delivered something a bit different. I did make some modifications. We are not big fans of super spicey foods so I did not use hot sauce or the jalepeno peppers. I added one can of black beans and 3 cloves pressed garlic. Also instead of one fresh tomatoe I used one can of diced tomatoes with chilies. I served with Mexican rice and also had cheddar cheese, black olives and sour cream for garnish. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
I added zing to this recipe by changing it up a bit. I didn't add more chili powder after cooking the chicken. After cooking the onion and bell pepper with 1-2 tsp diced garlic and 1 tsp ground ginger, I added 2 chopped roma tomatoes, 1/2 cup medium salsa, 1/2 cup water, a sprinkle or two of cinnamon (you'll be surprised how a little adds a lot of flavor!), salt, pepper, and added 1/8 cup finely chopped canned jalepeno slices. I then added the spiced chicken and heated thoroughly, allowing the liquid to form a "sauce". After cooking, I removed from heat and stirred in 1/4 cup of freshly torn cilantro. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
Quick and easy. I added garlic, 1 cup chicken broth and some corn. will play with the spices next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This was a tasty recipe, with a few changes. I used the diced canned tomatoes with jalapenos and garlic. Served over saffron rice, with refried beans and sour cream on the side. The family has asked that this becomes a frequent meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
5 stars in my book: easy, quick to make, all the ingredients always already on hand, and delicious to boot! It isn't near as spicy or picoso as it sounds, either. Seve with Mexican rice, a cold Corona...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Tastes like stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This was spicy, simple and scrumptious! I served it with Mexican Rice III from this site and corn on the cob, and it was a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Displaying results 1-10 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken Milano

A tasty Italian-influenced chicken dish with sun-dried tomatoes and cream.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States