Acapulco Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
This was GREAT! It took a little while to do but well worth the time. I added garlic and sour cream. The sour cream is a must. It made a delicious rich sauce. Without it dish was a little dry. Thought I made enough for leftovers, -- wrong, all gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Definitely a keeper for a busy weeknight or lazy weekend! Made a number of tweaks only because I like to have alot different flavors blending in my food: 28 ounce can fire roasted tomatoes instead of fresh chopped tomato; 3 garlic cloves minced; 3tbs chili powder instead of 1; first seasoned chicken with adobo powder; add 1 packet chicken bouillon in powder form; 1 teaspoon dried crushed oregano; 1 teaspoon ground cumin; and 1 chopped zucchini or squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ds R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sabana Grande, Sabana Grande, Puerto Rico
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
I love this recipe! It's so fast and easy, not to mention colorful and delicious! The only modifications I make are using red peppers instead of green, adding garlic, and topping it off with melted mozzarella cheese. Otherwise it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
This recipe was a quick and easy dish, that delivered something a bit different. I did make some modifications. We are not big fans of super spicey foods so I did not use hot sauce or the jalepeno peppers. I added one can of black beans and 3 cloves pressed garlic. Also instead of one fresh tomatoe I used one can of diced tomatoes with chilies. I served with Mexican rice and also had cheddar cheese, black olives and sour cream for garnish. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
I added zing to this recipe by changing it up a bit. I didn't add more chili powder after cooking the chicken. After cooking the onion and bell pepper with 1-2 tsp diced garlic and 1 tsp ground ginger, I added 2 chopped roma tomatoes, 1/2 cup medium salsa, 1/2 cup water, a sprinkle or two of cinnamon (you'll be surprised how a little adds a lot of flavor!), salt, pepper, and added 1/8 cup finely chopped canned jalepeno slices. I then added the spiced chicken and heated thoroughly, allowing the liquid to form a "sauce". After cooking, I removed from heat and stirred in 1/4 cup of freshly torn cilantro. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
Quick and easy. I added garlic, 1 cup chicken broth and some corn. will play with the spices next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This was a tasty recipe, with a few changes. I used the diced canned tomatoes with jalapenos and garlic. Served over saffron rice, with refried beans and sour cream on the side. The family has asked that this becomes a frequent meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
5 stars in my book: easy, quick to make, all the ingredients always already on hand, and delicious to boot! It isn't near as spicy or picoso as it sounds, either. Seve with Mexican rice, a cold Corona...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Tastes like stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This was spicy, simple and scrumptious! I served it with Mexican Rice III from this site and corn on the cob, and it was a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Displaying results 1-10 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Chicken Milano

A tasty Italian-influenced chicken dish with sun-dried tomatoes and cream.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States