Acapulco Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Basset Hound Mommy
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This was good. It wasn’t by any means bland, but it didn’t have that wow factor either. It was fairly easy and seemed healthy. A lot of the reviews mentioned that the dish turned out bland, so I modified it quite a bit to try and prevent this from happening. I used one green bell pepper, one red bell pepper, and 1 can of diced tomatoes with the juice. I added 2 ½ t. minced garlic, 1 t. cumin, 1 t. oregano, and ¼ t. cayenne pepper. I also omitted the hot pepper sauce because I didn’t feel like counting out twenty drops of sauce to add to the recipe. I seasoned the chicken with pepper, salt, Cajun seasoning, and chili powder, and then sautéed it in a little bit of chicken broth. After it had cooked for a few minutes, I added the peppers, onion, and some garlic and sautéed those with the chicken in hopes to give it more flavor. I also added cornstarch to the mixture to thicken it into more of a sauce. I served the dish over rice, but I think I’d prefer it in a tortilla, hard taco shell, or over a bed of tortilla chips; either of the last two options would be especially good as I felt like there should have been a crunchy element to the dish. When served over rice, it seemed a little like a casserole, but it wasn’t bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Very tasty! Followed the recipe pretty much exactly, but added more onion a little garlic, and did not use any oil. Served with brown rice/cilantro combo and sour cream. Was a lot like a fajita minus the tortilla. I will definitely be making this meal again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Really bland. I agree with whoever said that it "smelled better than it tasted." If there was an option for 2.5 stars, that's what it would get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
For everything that went into this I found it very bland. It was spicy but that's about all there was. Hopefully that makes sense to someone out there. Not a keeper at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
YUM, YUM, YUM! I took parts of someone elses suggestion. :) I added salsa & water to make a sauce. I did not use as many jalapenos as suggested and cut back on the hot sauce because we like our food hot, but not that hot. And we have small children that won't eat really hot food. They did like this though! I made this with Mexican Rice III by ALANSMOM (which is DELICIOUS!!!) and it was GREAT! My kids ate it with cheese quesadillas, my husband made his into a quesadilla and I ate mine with the rice rolled up in a tortilla. I was apprehensive about all the chili powder, but it is delicious! If you are thinking twice...JUST TRY IT!!! I LOVE that it is healthy too! This will be a frequent meal in our house! Thank You Lorrie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
It smells better than it tastes, but it's still Ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I added more vegetables to it, including zucchini! It was very yummy served with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Jace really really liked this. Three servings for a seven year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Wow, so good! I cut the chicken into strips and used home-grown bell and jalepeno peppers. I was also generous with the hot sauce, so they were nice and spicy. Will put the leftovers and black beans into tortillas for lunch! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Very good good recipe and easy to cook.. added pilaf and it was the best meal ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Chicken Milano

A tasty Italian-influenced chicken dish with sun-dried tomatoes and cream.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States