Abstinence on the Beach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Milly Suazo
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Instead of water, I used carbonated water. I also made 'frozen' style drinks using the mix of concentrates and coconut as the mixer, adding ice and carbonated water to the blender. It is very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milly Suazo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrio Tejas, Humacao, Puerto Rico
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This was good after I doubled the coconut milk. While I really liked the fact that this punch is not sickeningly sweet, the grapefruit juice concentrate was a little overpowering. I will be making it again with a little less grapefruit concentrate, more cranberry concentrate, and more coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I really liked this mix, but I also really like grapefruit juice. My husband thinks this is a tad tart for him. I used ruby red grapefruit juice and a whole can of coconut milk. I also mixed this with raspberry flavored sparkling water for a yummy punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Very tangy and interesting drink for the non-alcoholic party set. Would be interested to try it with alcohol. I found it to be very refreshing, although I couldn't drink much more than a single glass. I would actually use slightly less grapefruit concentrate if I made it again because it was a bit acidic and harsh to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
I should have known better with grapefruit juice in the recipe, but I just couldn't get over the sharp taste and smell of this drink... I had hoped for something kids and adults could enjoy on New Year's Eve without alcohol... this wasn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
cool!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
I tired this and evryone like dit. A bit on the "zingy" side. I would suggest adding a lot more coconut milk to make it milder. Also, try making cranberry juice ice cubes to go along with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
A very good idea for parties and get togethers where alcohol isn't desired. In fact, this negates the need for alcohol at all. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States