Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Great cookie. I'm very strict about using only real butter in all my baking, but I did give butter-flavored shortening a try and was pleasantly surprised. I followed recipe exactly (unsual for me) and it turned out terriffic. I baked mine for 9 min. for the perfect soft and chewy cookie. Of all the cookie recipes I've tried, these taste almost identical to Mrs.Fields coming out of the oven. It also keeps well the day after. TIP - keep the cookies on the cookie sheet for at least 10 min. if you want the cookies to stay moist and soft longer. The natural steam that forms on the bottom penetrates the cookie keeping them moist. A bakery secret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
995 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
These ARE the best chocolate chip cookies ever! Since I don't care for milk chocolate, I substituted semi-sweet chocolate chips, and I used butter. I also melted the butter before beating it with the sugars; this was a tip from an online "Chocolate Chip Cookie Hints" site. This site also recommended tripling the vanilla. I used 1 tablespoon of regular vanilla (couldn't find the Mexican variety). The cookies were slightly crispy on top and sides, but wonderfully rich and chewy and flavorful in the middle. I just baked them today, and they're already almost gone! Thanks, Nicole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
344 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
A Winner At Our House, according to my 86 year old Cookie Monster Husband. If anyone had a problem with these cookies being grey or too soft or too hard, then it was their problem not the recipe. My husband was shocked that I had got the recipe off the internet, as I am a excellent cook and usually invent my own recipes. I probably did everything wrong as I have Arthritis Hands, so had a problem stirring, so I used my hands. I also shaped the dough into Balls, with my hands, guessing at the size. The cookies baked down to 36 - 3 ½ inch, not too thick and absolutely not too thin wonderful cookies. Baked them on my “REMA” Air Insulated ungreased Cookie Sheets Clicked on recipe to make 36 cookies instead of the 18 in the original. I did not chill the dough followed your recipe to the letter otherwise. Granddaughter and two Great Grandchildren coming to visit for two weeks. Will be busy so I wanted to get some goodies ready ahead of time. After they cooled I placed them into a box separated each layer with a sheet of parchment paper. Wrapped the whole box in Aluminum Foil, and placed into the freezer. Took one out the next day let it thaw our on a parchment paper. They were perfect, and I now will have 30 beautiful and delicious cookies ready for our family, husband gobbled up three before they hardly cooled, saved three for the next day, I pinched off a piece to taste test for quality as I do not eat sweets, these couldn't be better. Thanks, Dewey & Me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
296 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
YUMMY. I did only use 1 egg...for a chewier "less-cake-like" cookie. And I bought some Mexican Vannila last time I was in Mexico...not very good at all (unless I just got a bad batch?)...don't waste your time buying it. I also used half butter, half shortening...and a little less sugar(s).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
Good cookies but these aren't a family secret recipe. They're exactly the recipe on the Nestle's tollhouse chocolate chip bag!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
A great recipe! While I usually hate it when a reviewer remarks on the changes they made to the recipe, because I did not have milk chocolate I substituted semi-sweet. I also did not have mexican vanilla so I used 6 teaspoons regular vanilla(on another reviewer's suggestion). The recipe made closer to four dozen. Even with the changes I had to makeit was a wonderful recipe that left none for the next day! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
I adapted this recipe to lower the fat and am quite pleased with the results. My changes are: 1/4 c. butter flavor shortening; 3/4 c. unsweetened applesauce; 1 tsp. butter flavoring; 1 c. chocolate chips. My cookies were soft and slightly cakey. Had to bake for 20 min. I estimate my version to have about 5g fat per cookie instead of 13g in the original recipe. My husband liked these which surprised me because he's VERY picky about chocolate chip cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
okay, but not absolutely the best chocolate chip cookies I have ever made by far! they turned out flat for me both times I tried them...sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pretty_in_pink_pa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
These are the best cookies ever! I can't keep them in the house. In fact I just heard the cookie jar open....my husband is eating them again! I don't grease the cookie sheets because of all the shorting thats in the cookies. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
These are very good but I prefer the Mrs. Fields recipe. It has 1 1/2 cups brown sugar and 1/2 a cup sugar and it gives it a golden quality and a chewy texture. Still very good!!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josee RC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,036) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States