Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Of course this recipe is jammin'!! This is the Classic Toll House Cookie recipe with milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet chips - using 2 tsp of Mexican vanilla instead of 1tsp of regular vanilla. And I just noticed it isn't butter - they added butter flavored shortening which we will probably discover causes cancer in 20 years... Nestle puts a lot of time, effort, and money into their test kitchen. I've never made a recipe from the back of any of their chip bags that wasn't excellent. Of course they seem to like the same type of cookies I do - chewy or crisp (or both if you can manage it, crisp edges with chewy centers)and totally decadent. You can keep your cakey cookie recipes, this is just how I like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Ok, let's try this again. I don't understand why my review for this recipe keeps getting deleted. I have no idea how I could possibly be offending anyone with the truth. What I have to say should be helpful in regards to THIS particular recipe. To the reviewer who said, "This is the exact recipe on the back of the Toll House chocolate chip package", and the 80 people who somehow found that information "helpful": this is NOT, I repeat, NOT the same recipe. The package calls for butter or margarine. This recipe calls for butter-flavored Crisco. The "family secret" the submitter is talking about is the Crisco. My mom has always used the same "secret" in her chocolate chip cookies. It produces a thicker, softer cookie. Using butter produces a flatter, crispier cookie in this recipe. So, everyone that is using butter needs to go review the Toll House recipe (it's right here on AR), otherwise you are not reviewing this recipe and misleading everyone. I use THIS recipe. They taste great, stay soft for days, and present beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I have made several top rated/popular Choco-chip cookie recipes on here and these by far out of any of them and any that i have had or made in my life are above all the -best- their texture is perfect, the outside it thin and crispy, when cooked on a heavy Nordic aluminum pan they come out gorgeous, crackle top with a glisten from the sugar crystallizing. The thickness is perfect, not too thin or thick. I used nestle mini morsels (1cup) and special dark chocolate chips (1cup). I know that Crisco is not good for you but by golly does it do wonders in baking. As my mother would say it is a dessert and its alright if it is not great for you, because you're only supposed to have it as a dessert! 1 cookie after dinner won't hurt ;) Summery : these cookies melt in your mouth, and their buttery light crispy goodness will be haunting you for another. ( and just like any other thing your cook or bake, DON'T cook them for to long, DUH that is how anything come out bad, so just like in most cases if you didn't follow the recipe and it comes out like , clearly it id operator error, and if you did it right and it came out bad then you should find another recipe, but if 1,000+ people claim its incredible... maybe you should check out the dates on your ingredients. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I was so happy with this recipe after combining a few reviews in. I used butter instead of shortening, used a tablespoon of vanilla extract, and one egg instead of two. Just for fun, I tossed in a dash a cinnamon. I left them in for exactly 10 minutes. They flattened out which was awesome (personally not a fan of a cake-like cookie) and taste great. Crisp edges and soft middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
We used real butter in place of the shorting and doubled the recipe,everyone in the house loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6outof7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
The recipe was easy to follow. The only thing I "accidently" did was add 1 c. of brown sugar. I over measured. I did not have Mexican vanilla so I used regular vanilla. And I also used 2 brown eggs (since they were a gift from and aunt and uncle's farm). The cookies turned out deelish!!!! This is now my go to recipe for choco-chip!!! I can't wait to mix in some other ingredients to change around the flavor. My teenage daughter tried them and said they were "off the chain", which means the best. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
These are my new favorite cookies! They are delicious! I followed a few tricks from other reviews. Melting the butter was genius (but I also had to up the flour by 1/4 cup). I upped the vanilla to 1T. It also helped me to refrigerate the dough for about 10 minutes just to make it easier to handle. These are amazing, enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rolling Prairie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
These were ok. They were a little more crumbly/cakey and not as chewy as I was looking for. I did use regular vanilla instead of Mexican.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I usually use the recipe on the chocolate chip bag, but I had 2 bags of Ghiradelli Semi-Sweet Mini Chips and there was a cupcake recipe on the bag, so I went looking and found this wonderful recipe. I had no butter-flavored Crisco, but I had plain so I doubled the recipe using 1 cup of Crisco and 1 cup of butter, in an attempt to get the butter flavor. I also used the semi-sweet mini chips rather than milk chocolate as that is what I had in the pantry. Luckily, I had Mexican vanilla! Wow, what a hit. I took them to work and several people told me they were the best chocolate chip cookies they had ever had. I had many requests for the recipe. The combo of shortening and butter made them crispy on the outside and soft on the inside and let me tell you, these are outstanding cookies. Thanks so much for the recipe Nicole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
These turned out fantastic!! I didn't have butter flavored shortening so I just used regular. SO YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaelynnM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,036) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States