Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
This has to be one of the best tasting potato soup recipes I've tried. I think next time I will try adding some shredded cheese in the last step or stir some into a hot bowl of soup for an added kick. I did find that this recipe takes much longer to prepare than the recipe states. The times listed in the preparation are assuming you're starting out with peeled/diced potatoes, chopped onions, chopped celery, etc. If you have none of this prepared ahead of time (and who does?) then this recipe will take much longer to make. Sure, it's worth the time it takes to make it...but don't use this recipe for as last-minute dinner when you're in a hurry or when you're really tired and just wanting a good soup. It took me about two hours to make this from start to finish. The cooking of the potatoes in the middle of the recipe before the stock is added is an excellent step and it helps the potatoes cook much faster than they would have just by boiling alone. The puree step at near the end is very important. It highly affected the texture and flavor of the soup. Don't skip that step! Also, please don't think that "chicken broth" and "chicken stock" are the same thing. They're not! I wasn't able to find chicken stock at Walmart, I had to go to Albertsons. If you use chicken broth you'll get a much different result. I also noticed this recipe has no salt added. I did find adding salt to my bowl of soup helped the flavor even more. I suggest adding some salt! I hi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
746 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Good base soup to build on for personal preference. I felt the soup definitely lacked flavor, but wasn't sure if it was me, so I asked hubby to taste it. Immediate response; "terrible"! Thought he was kidding me, but alas, he was not.... Back to the stove top it went; added chicken boullion to give the soup more complexity and depth, extra garlic, white pepper (better with cream bases than black pepper), leeks, celery, garlic salt, tsp of hot pepper sauce, dried parsley and a tad bit more tarragon. Didn't need to puree the soup as the potatoes melted away. Ultimate potato soup with additions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
605 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
I am a professional Chef and I teach Culinary classes, we used this recipe last night and it was given a thumbs up. kudos to Karena
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
553 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I read all the top reviews and nobody has mentioned this before so maybe it's not a big deal to some...but I thought the bacon would be SO much better if it wasn't boiled with the potatoes (after cooking it.) It lost it's flavor and became soggy! I think it would be so much better added at the end, after everything was pureed. Just my $.02.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
283 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
Thank you so much for letting us enjoy this wonderful soup. It was one of the last things my Father tasted before he died of lung cancer. It was amazing how much he ate of this soup even though he had a hard time getting it down trough his throut because of the cancer. it was very very much worth it. so in the spirit of john van liempt, enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
283 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This was by far one of the best Potato Soup recipes I've ever prepared! It is a bit involved and time consuming (don't believe the prep or cook times posted here), but it was sooo worth it! I added carrot and used chicken broth. Yes, stock is better, but if you don't have it handy, broth works just fine. If you've read any of my other reviews, you'll know I'm a fan of red potatoes, skin on; use them in this recipe as well! In step 3 skip the purée part. It's a needless mess and complication! Near the end, when the potatoes are soft, simply mash it about 4 to 5 times with a masher and achieve the same results, without the time, mess and added cleanup. Top with your favorite grated cheese, sliced green onion and some crumbles of the bacon you've set aside. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clifford Randall Lyde

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
I have made this soup several times for many different people. Everyone LOVES it! I don't add the tarragon or cilantro nor do I puree at the end, it is still absolutely delicious. I read in a previous review not to use canned chicken broth...I do! I'm looking forward to my first cold weather batch, it's worth every bit of the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
This TRULY is the best potato soup you could ever have. Rich, creamy, full of flavor. You won't find better in a can or at a restaurant. The only change I will make next time is I'll use leeks instead of onions. Simply because I think leeks in soup adds the most delicious flavor. You definetly should give this soup a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
This soup was awesome! The only change from the recipe that I made was to use fat-free 1/2 & 1/2 instead of the flour and cream, and it didnt need the flour anyway! When I pureed for a minute, it thickened up nicely!. The tarragon gave it a really nice flavor...will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
Thankyou! Karena. What a rich & decadent soup!! As I'm devouring every bite. I feel like I just went to a 5 Star Restaurant and ordered their "best" soup. My family and my daughters 9 year old friend couldn't get enough. Excellent. I had no choice to do some things different, I did not have any Tarragon and I used 1/3 of the cilantro(I didn't like the taste of the cilantro plain so I was afraid if I put the 3 tsps. it called for, I thought I might not like the soup... but in fact when the soup was done it tasted like it needed something, so I threw in one tsp. of the cilantro and a little more salt and pepper. It was the best soup I have ever made. Oh! also, My Ten year old Daughter (who's finiky) only like it after I added Shedded Cheddar Cheese to hers. Served with Fresh French Bread and Butter. WHAT A HIT!!! I will definitly be making this again, especially at my next big Holiday gathering. I want my WHOLE Family to enjoy this delectable soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States