Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I just throw all the ingredients in the pot and simmer for an hour-ish, reserving the flour until the end, use just enough to thicken, then a few pokes with the potato masher to mash a few of the potatoes. I can't tell a difference in the end result doing it this way rather than sautéing and all that. I omit the tarragon as I don't care for it, only use cilantro when I have it on hand, and I brown and serve the bacon on the side as a garnish. I know the rating police will hate a review of a recipe I didn't explicitly follow directions on, but oh well. Cooking entails experimentation - get over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
BACON MAKES EVERYTHING BETTER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Theresa1962
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
This was fast and easy on a cold winters day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
My whole family loved this soup and my daughter even asked for seconds. It is worth the effort, plus I have enough of everything but potatoes left to make another pot sometime this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
It was okay. Nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angie B
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This was a great recipe but I added diced carrots for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
really good soup!! I didn't add any seasonings, and it tasted great! It was a little to thick for our liking, but when we heated it up for left overs, we just added a little more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meaganteal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Deliciously easy! By far the best Potato Soup I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I just made this last weekend for my husband and I and my daughter and her boyfriend. Everyone loved it! We all had really big bowls of it and then my daughter and her boyfriend cleaned the pot out! My husband has requested more for tomorrow! Time to head to the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
An super recipe - one of the best for an excellent soup in its own right, or as a base for the more adventuresome. I've done this with sour cream, varied the herbs a bit (try some dill or oregano), used vegetable stock rather than chicken, etc. You can experiment without ruining this one! But if you just put this soup in front of your guests, you'll garner lots of ooohs and aaahs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States