Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Amazing as is! I can't wait to take it for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Whittington-Washington

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Randallstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Followed recipe exactly and whole family loved it. Next time I will make it a day ahead. Left overs the next day were even better! Only problem I have with the recipe is that it says prep time is 10 min. I know I work slow but I would like to see anyone do all that peeling and chopping in 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I like the consistency but I agree with JHarmon40 that the bacon should be added at the end and not cooked with the potatoes. The cilantro was a bit overpowering also, so next time I may half the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I liked this soup. Did not have leeks. Will add them next time. Added 1/4 tsp of dried red pepper. Also a little chicken granules. Took. About two hours start to finish. I will add the bacon, right before the cream mixture, next time. Was soggy, did not like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Havig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Loved the recipe, switched a few things up. I used 1/2 tsp of thyme and 1/2 oregano instead of majorum. Also added a 1/2cup of white wine while simmering with chicken stock, also added 4 drops of liquid smoke to the mix. Skipped the cilantro. After I bowled the soup up, I put 2 tbs shredded cheddar, 1 tbs green onion, and 1 tbs crumbled bacon, and a small drizzle of hot sauce on top. Awesome! Make sure to crumble the bacon before you toss it with the cooking potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Fantastic! Great flavor, creamy, & hearty. My family loved this soup & I have made it at least 3 times a month since finding this recipe! Thank you for a wonderful recipe I will use for life! Take care.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Outstanding soup, good flavor, nice balance. We offer one cautionary note, as cooks with 30+ years of experience: the time estimate for food preparation was not even close for us: it took an hour plus cook time. On a weekend it was not a problem, but this is not a quickie recipe. And we will most certainly make it again, many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potsdam, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Wonderful recipe... I used 1/4 lb of bacon...all veggies the same as in recipe except potatoes..used 4. I diid not have fresh cilantro..used dried. Used 1/2 and 1/2instead of cream... Even though I cut back on a few things...it was yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I thought like another commentor that it lacked flavor. I omitted the terragan, cilantro and garlic because it just didn't sound good in potato soup. However, I added a lb. of carrots, corn, a can of beer and more potatoes than the recipe called for along with salt and pepper. I added just a little bit bacon grease to the pot from my baking sheet for health reasons. I sautéed my onion and celery in a bit of olive oil. I also had to add a lot of thickener at the end. I did not puree but just mashed everything in the pot a couple of times. I also did not want mushy bacon in my soup - yuck. I baked my bacon and set it aside for crumbles on top along with shredded cheddar colby jack cheese and fresh parsley to dress it up in the bowl. The family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christie
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This was delicious! I stuck with the recipe pretty mych exactly (only omitted the cilantro because my husband doesn't like it and didn't puree half at the end because everyone was ready to eat and it was great without). My daughter thought of sprinkling shredded cheese on top and was glad she did, yummy! He and my daughter had 2 bowls! Definitely will do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Watauga, Texas, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States