Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Very easy and so tasty...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I gave this 5 stars because I had to make some changes (my son can't have milk or soy). It was SO good, but with my changes, probably a 4-4.5 star. I'm sure that, as written, it's so much better. I didn't have bacon, so replaced the bacon & butter with coconut oil, and the cream with coconut milk. Even still it was SO delicious. My husband commented that it would make a fabulous base for chowder. When we re-heated the leftovers the next day we added a bunch of frozen corn and that was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
First I read all of the reviews. Instead of onion I used a Leek.(first time I ever used one) I used chicken broth but I did add 2 packets of Swanson Chicken Flavor Boost. I used parsley instead of cilantro and tarragon. I did feel this could use a little more flavor (that's why I only gave it 4 stars) so I'm wondering if the tarragon and cilantro would have been good in the mixture. I crumbled up the bacon right before serving and put into the soup. I left some reserve for topping the soup in our bowls plus I sprinkled shredded cheese and sliced green onion, so good! The green onion gave it a little more flavor. I did not puree it, I didn't feel it needed it. My 11 yr old only added more crumbled bacon to the top of his and he LOVED it! He's very picky. He's the reason I made this soup, he loves potato soup! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This was the best soup that I have ever made. I was sure that I would have leftovers, but It was all gone by the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shonna RV
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
my changes - I didn't use onion but used onion powder...didn't have tarragon, used marjamum instead...used ends and pieces for bacon...added carrots and used 2% milk for the rue...used mexican cheese mix that I already had - parm would have worked too. I did not puree at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This soup was just ok. Followed the recipe to a T. It tasted like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Wow! Now that is great potato soup! Absolutely loved what the tarragon did for the flavor. Just wish someone would be more specific...at least giving me a starter for how much salt. It's the one ingredient that I'm the most afraid of, but felt was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Made this soup today. WOW!!! My only complaint is the roux makes the soup very thick after I puréed half of it. My culinary student daughter suggested doubling the cream next time. The only change I made was to omit the cilantro as I don't care for that herb...I added dried marjoram instead and it was wonderful! I also added salt and pepper at the end. Upon serving we put a dollop of sour cream and some shredded Mexican cheese. My family declared it a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Well, I added chopped clams and not all of the cream mixture....it is wonderful! I can not wait to share this with others. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,083) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States