Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Wow...made this soup for dinner tonight...yum, yum. My husband has always said he is the potato soup guy, butt said this was much better than his :) thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This was the best potato soup I've ever made! I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloriabeatrice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elrosa, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waterford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Such a great and easy recipe. The only thing I did differently was adding a gravy mix instead of chicken broth (was out of Knors!)I normally use full cream in my soup but there was none in the market so I just used the partially skimmed milk that was available and the soup was still incredibly creamy and thick! Love it so much it will become a regular for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I really liked this recipe and it makes for a great starter that allows you to experiment a little. I used basil instead of tarragon, which I really liked and I also added green onions and fresh shredded pepper jack cheese at the end. The green onion did a little bit for presentation, but I liked the pepper jack cheese, because a there were a few bites that would have a little kick. I also added cooked bacon before adding the cream mixture and some more after adding the cream mixture. I would recommend adding it at the end, because the bacon doesn't have as much flavor after sitting in with everything else for so long. I also did not use a blender, because i don't have one, so I just mashed them with a spatula (also don't have a potato masher) and though the potatoes weren't mashed entirely, I got the texture that I wanted. I don't see any need to add salt because I used chicken broth. Overall, was really pleased with this recipe and will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This was easy to make and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EmilyPaige
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This is a great soup and wasn't to difficult to make. The adjustment I mad was using ham instead of bacon. Cooking the vegetables in Olive oil. Great idea to purée half of the soup this really made it great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crothersville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Yum! Just save some of the bacon to top your soup (or make a little extra!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I made this tonight, really good soup. I didn't change one ingredient other than using my own homemade **chicken stock. I cooked it longer than it says because I think longer cooking develops more flavor. Half an hour before I was ready to serve I added the *butter/flour/cream mixture and half of the bacon. I reserved the rest for garnish. *I used light cream that I use for my coffee. The grocery store was completely out of heavy cream. Turned out fine. Half & Half would probably work as well. **I use Ina Garten's recipe for chicken stock but I do not use 3 whole chickens. I use chicken backs and necks that equal about 3 lbs and any remaining bones from roasting, rotisserie etc, (just toss bones in a ziplock bag and freeze them until you're ready for stock day!) It's amazing and yields about 6 quarts of stock. I use it regularly and I'll never buy store bought chicken "broth" again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,084) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States