Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I am very happy having chosen this recipe. I did not use the tarragon or cilantro as my family does not like these. The time it takes [mentioned already] is longer than stated but not super long. I also took out about two cups to use a hand masher to mush it up a bit and then back into pot. I also did not need [or use]the flour. I agree and did put the bacon on last and cheddar cheese on top at the end. I also used half and half. [ I am miss pudge already] As someone said earlier [and I will use next time as this sounds good] sprinkle green onion at the end. Thanks go to Karena
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Excellent! Had chicken broth on hand and the soup was still crazy good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunkirk, New York, USA
Living In: Wexford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I've been using this recipe for a few years now, it's the best one I have tried. The only things I do different is I don't use the tarragon or cilantro but add about 4 Oz of cheddar cheese. It is the best soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Loved this soup! I cooked my potatoes a bit too long but it was still good and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Soup was all right the first time I made it, but had way too much cilantro/taragon for my family's tastes and the bacon came out mushy. The second time I made it with 1/4 TSP of cilantro, taragon, oregano, and basil... 1/2 tsp of pepper and salt, mixed them in while the garlic was simmering along with 1/2 cup of butter. I also didn't add in the bacon until the very last step the second time around, and the soup came out much better. Family loved the edited version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cary Morton

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Yum! This is definitely a good potato soup base to build on. I found it to be quite flavorful as written, although I didn't have tarragon so substituted a mix of fennel seed, ground marjoram, rosemary, and oregano. I also added carrots to the veggies, and I used an immersion blender (love that thing!) to blend it without mess. I did need more than 1 cup of liquid to make the cream sauce. I used 1 cup heavy cream and the roux was still very solid, so I thinned with milk (prob another 1/2 cup) until it was a nice sauce. And it only took me about 1 hr start to finish, even with chopping veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
When hubby says "it's a keeper" then I know I have found something really good! The video really helped, as well as the reviews, which I always read. And when I read MaggieOK2's review who stated: "The puree step near the end is very important. It highly affected the texture and flavor of the soup. Don't skip that step!" I made sure I did this step and she is right! I didn't have tarragon, so used Dill per the video and added salt and pepper to taste. It has a great smokey flavor to it thanks to the bacon. I normally make a potato cream cheese soup, but this may skip past it! As with all recipes, you can always season to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I dearly love potato soup! The changes I would make to this soup would be to add a lot more celery and onion. You can't put too much celery or onion into potato soup! I'd leave out the tarragon and cilantro, it's not needed. At the end, melt in a cup or two of your favorite shredded cheese. Instead of a cup of heavy cream, add a quart of half and half. I use instant potatoes to thicken the soup and leave out the step for making a thickening. Throw in the crispy bacon last for a delicious crunch and you have a potato soup straight from heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I made this recipe vegan by taking out the bacon adding corn and using (unsweetened) coconut milk and vegan butter instead of cream and real butter. I also added fresh parsley and green onion on top. It was VERY delicious and WAY healthier!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States