Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Not bad! Wouldn't call it stellar but pretty good! I halved the recipe and substituted a leek for the onion, just to use it up. I didn't have tarragon or cilantro so used about 1/2tsp of italian seasoning, and blended with an immersion blender but left some chunks. Would probably try again and follow to the T to see if it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Great comfort food. My kids really liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Very good potato soup. My husband loved it! When I make it again, I will add some cheese to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Delicious! I didn't have any tarragon so I mashed up a little anise seed and added some oregano. I want to have another bowl so badly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne Gillette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Perfect weather for this great soup. Sautéed onion and garlic in butter. Used bacon bits and sour cream instead of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
A very good and hearty soup recipe. Not a dieters dream soup though. This one sticks to your bones, Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tea Memoris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Great taste but really takes too long to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
The cilantro gave this a nice twist, and it was a delicious, easy soup. I did serve topped with cheese. The only issue I had was my fault, I wasn'twatching the potatoes closely enough and I overcooked . When I went to puree, the soup came out a little runny. I'll watch more carefully next time, but therewill ddefinitely be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I make this soup (freezes well if you're making extra) all the time for my boyfriend and I! I use gold russet potatoes with the skin on for texture on those that don't get blended, I find it also cut down the cooking time. I also doubled the garlic and tarragon portion since we love lots of flavor! I also prefer ham chunks vs bacon. I used leftover ham from Christmas and it was mouth watering. Also a great way to use up leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJ Cuzzacrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Robert Waters
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I am not much of a soup guy, but this recipe was indeed absolutely delicious! We are trying to cut cholesterol so we used turkey bacon, subbed half & half for the heavy cream, and used butter flavored Crisco instead of real butter. We used red taters too... Might use just a tiny bit less tarragon next time. There WILL be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Waters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States