Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I make potato soup for winter church dinners, we omit the cilantro ( can't stand that stuff) and we use half and half rather than heavy cream, we also leave the celery out. Church members always comeback for more, we have to quadruple the recipe and the pot is always empty. Instead of bacon we use diced ham. I'm only giving 3 stars though because of the changes I make. We like our comfort food to be smooth tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This is FABULOUS!!! I make this all the time now...no chicken stock?? Use boullion...I've used a jar of alfredo sauce instead of making the cream sauce, sometimes cream of chicken soup & cream of celery..( I usually double the recipe for my Very Hungry Family)..used turkey bacon instead of pork..No matter how I change it up, it's always a big hit!! Love this recipe! Thanks So Much for putting it out there!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Excellent recipe - because I am lazy and didn't want to have to do the puree step I used a potato soup starter (dried seasoning and potatoes) Added fresh parsley and green onions too, as I had them from our garden! Also added carrots, and used light cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I thought the tarragon and cilantro gave this a strange flavor. Maybe without these two things it would be fine? I also substituted milk for cream and was still plenty creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Excellent recipe! My family loves it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I thought this was a great potato soup. Started everything at 5:15 & was ready by 7. I did make a couple alterations. I used Canadian bacon instead of bacon and i used 2% milk with Greek yogurt instead of heavy cream. I didn't have any tarragon so i used thyme. It was fabulous. I also added some frozen corn and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Srvhim4life

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Accidentally doubled the rue, and got some of the best mashed potatoes I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I've been making this recipe for several years and decided it was time to review it. Obviously, it's become a staple in my household. It's a very forgiving recipe as I sometimes don't use the whole pound of bacon and I never add the tarragon or cilantro as I have family members who aren't fond of either. I substitute with fresh parsley. I will use celery seed - sauteing them with the onions - if I don't have celery. I find that the celery flavor is important to the dish as a whole. In lieu of flour I have used a tablespoon or so of instant mashed potato flakes to thicken up the soup. We garnish with the bacon, with more parsley, or with shredded cheese. Combined with a grilled cheese or ham sandwich and you've got a perfect dinner for a cold night. In fact, there's a pot of this on my stove right now which prompted me to finally review it. It's excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
What a great potato soup! I made this recipe times 6 for a large group and cleaned the pot! I will be making this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by softailjeff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elwood, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Best potato soup I ever made !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mars grl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States