Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I combined this with several other potato soup recipes and made it my own, but this was the best one I found and the recipe I followed most closely. I didn't have that much bacon and I had no celery, but I added some green peppers finely chopped which did help. I substituted half milk half/sour cream for heavy cream and it turned out well. I let it simmer and reduce a bit until it got to desired thickness. I still found it to be a bit brothy, so I slightly mashed it with a potato masher. This really helped thicken it up and add to the creaminess! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Made this tonight. We loved it. It can be a little bland but I add hot sauce to mine so I didn't notice it much. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amys6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I made the mistake of cutting the recipe in half because only my daughter and I were home and I thought 8 servings would be too much.....HUGE MISTAKE!!!! This soup is AWESOME. However, I used ham cubes instead of bacon and leeks in place of the onions. The soup was full of flavor and my daughter and I are fighting over the last bowl! Will definitely cook it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Beats all other potato soups I've ever had and all the chain restaurant recipes! I've made it twice now in the past 2-months and its easy to replicate the good results time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Not sure what I did wrong here. I followed the recipe exactly when it came to making the cream mixture. I had to make it 3 times before it came out right. The first two times I made the mixture it came out clumpy and like dough no matter how much I stirred. The final 3rd time I added milk and took the pan off the heat. I threw in the bacon and kept adding milk while stirring like crazy. It finally came out right so I just added the potatoes as I had way too many and mixed it together while simmering. Flavors were good. However I doubt I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Currently eating this with kids.soup is very thin, even after making and extra rue, and my soup turned very brown. It has a decent flavor, but won't re make this dish again. There are better and faster versions of this soup. This took an hour and a half to make, not the quick fourty minute dish I thought it would be
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This soup was excellent! Perfect comfort food when paired with a crusty French bread. I think it would be great with other vegetables added to it or ham or kielbasa. No need to purée at the end-just a potato masher will do the job. Thank you for am excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Supermom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Amazing recipe! I substituted thinly sliced stew beef for the bacon and sautéed the onions, celery, garlic, and beef in about 1/8 cup of evoo. The rest of the recipe I left as is and this is by far one of the best potato soups I have ever tasted! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Hurricane, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This soup turned out delicious! I had to make two modifications based on what I had on hand. I didn't have any bacon so I used a 1/4 cup butter in place of the bacon grease. I only had skim milk so I used that instead of heavy cream. I was fully prepared to add some sour cream in at the end for some extra creaminess but it really didn't need it so I didn't. I loved the flavor of the tarragon in this soup. If it's this delicious without bacon and heavy cream I know it's gotta be amazing with them, so next time I will make this exactly as written for a treat. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallory825

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Swansboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States