Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Love love love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Love the flavor! Easy, but I made quite the mess. Added some green onions before I served. Will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Cherry Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Great base recipe, however I made a few simple changes. I made the bacon, but didn't use as directed in the first step of the recipe I set aside and added later. I combined the celery, onion and garlic in a pot and cooked for 3-4 minutes then added the potatoes and chicken stock and allowed to cook until the potatoes were tender. In the next step I combined the butter, flour, heavy whipping cream and substituted the tarragon and cilantro with 1 1/2 TSP of Rosemary then combined it with the potato mixture. No need to puree the potatoes just a few simple passes with the potato masher worked just fine. I then added in the bacon to the mixture and allowed to simmer for another 5 minutes. Before the last 3 minutes of simmering I added 3/4 jar of Cheese Whiz and 1/2 cup of Sharp Cheddar cheese (shredded). My husband and 2 very picky boys LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This is the best potato soup recipe I've made. Followed the recipe as written but added white pepper and salt , and I also added a little more heavy cream to the flour mixture. Great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by monimoni75
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I made this for the first time and loved it! Thanks for the suggestion to cook the bacon and crumble in on top of the soup, instead of cooking it in the soup. I did change it a little. I used kale instead of cilantro. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Really good but did not use bacon fat! Cooked bacon and drained off as much far as I could. Did not use heavy cream but used 1/2 and 1/2. Otherwise this recipe would have been very unhealthy. Other than that, it was awesome and we'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
it was good but the bacon was the star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Delicious! Best potato soup I've ever had! Wait until the very end to add the salt and pepper to taste cause it's packs a lot of flavor already! You should try this one for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Made it exactly as recipe called and it was phenomenal -the family devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Believe it or not, I veganized this recipe and it was amazing! I used Earth Balance butter and subbed in cashew cream for the heavy cream; and of course omitted the bacon. So delicious and easy to make! I sprinkled finely chopped chives on top before serving. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States