Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Wow! Now that is great potato soup! Absolutely loved what the tarragon did for the flavor. Just wish someone would be more specific...at least giving me a starter for how much salt. It's the one ingredient that I'm the most afraid of, but felt was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Made this soup today. WOW!!! My only complaint is the roux makes the soup very thick after I puréed half of it. My culinary student daughter suggested doubling the cream next time. The only change I made was to omit the cilantro as I don't care for that herb...I added dried marjoram instead and it was wonderful! I also added salt and pepper at the end. Upon serving we put a dollop of sour cream and some shredded Mexican cheese. My family declared it a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Well, I added chopped clams and not all of the cream mixture....it is wonderful! I can not wait to share this with others. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Made this for dinner last night for a friend who just kept talking about his Mom's potato soup. I told him this wouldn't be his Mom's potato soup. He loved it and I did too. It will be my only potato soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
A little too thick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Fantastic! Took to a family dinner and it was the hit of the night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Don't need to change a thing. I made this according to the recipe and it was excellent. My next project will be to figure out how to can this so that i can make up a bunch without eating up freezer space. I highly recommend awesome soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Love this soup! Great for a really good treat every once and a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Great. Had to make some subs because I didn't have some. Didn't use cilantro, used thyme in place of tarragon, had to use 3/4 cup sour cream and 1/4 cup 2%milk in place of heavy cream, did not add boil bacon, added bacon and shredded,mild cheddar as topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Excellent basic recipe, which you can easily adjust for quantity, taste and calorie count. Homemade chicken stock will provide a different, possibly more concentrated flavor. I nixed the cilantro and added more fresh garlic, plus a few more personal choices (fat free evaporated milk, fresh cracked pepper, etc.) and served with warm whole wheat bread, garlic butter with shredded cheese (sharp cheddar)& minced green onion available. Tweak away... they will gobble it up! Oh, I dropped a star for overall prep time and IMO avoidable calorie/bad fat count.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr Bear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States