Absolutely Ultimate Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Excellent marinade! My husband and I loved it! I didn't have tahini, so I subbed 2 Tbsp. of sesame oil which worked great. I also used 1/4 cup of Splenda for the white sugar and low sodium soy sauce. I cut the chicken into chunks for kabobs and let it marinate about 8 hours. Boy, was this ever good! It has a sweet, oriental flair to it and is "Absolutely Addictive". It's great paired with steamed broccoli, carrots, baby corn and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
My word, what a magnificent flavor this marinade did bring to my grilled vegetables on the Fourth of July. I made the marinade in a big bowl, tossed in peppers, onions, broccoli, etc., and allowed them to marinate for about 4 hours. Then I placed the vegetables and some of the marinade in a foil packet and put them onto the grill. The only fireworks display nicer than the one in the sky was the one this marinade brought to my tastebuds. God bless America!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
The best I've ever had. If you don't have Tahini (Sesame paste), Sesame oil works well too. Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
This was an excellent marinade with a sweet taste. Best meat I ever had. My friends and I made it for a cookout at school. Those of you wondering what tahini is, it's ground up sesame seed, also known as sesame butter. You can't find it at a normal grocery store, so try the local import store - it's a Middle Eastern thing (or if you're feeling bold, grind up some sesame seeds). Dehydrated onions work fine for the onions. The tahini smells nasty, just make sure that the marinade smells somewhat sweet and your meat will taste sweet. We also added a pinch of oregano. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
I used this for veggie kebobs, eggplant, mushrooms, red and green peppers, onions, and zucchini, and it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
I was planning on using this recipe for my daughters birthday party but being the skeptic that I am I wanted to taste test it first. It was great! Even my five year old commented how good it was. I used the marinade for london broil and heated up the reserved marinade and poured over the meat with sauteed mushrooms. Surprisingly I found the tahini in the kosher section of the supermarket. I am definitely making this for the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
This marinade was the perfect change to our family's boring ones. Not only is the resulting taste really good, but it makes meat very soft. It works well with beef fajita and beef sirloin steaks, meats that matter the most when they're tender. Don't marinate for more than a day, though, or the meat doesn't come out as juicy or soft. Even the pickiest members of the family liked this marinade (myself included)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
Another WOWWWWW!! I marinated both Chicken Breasts and Eye of Round Steak. Both were fantastic! I am sure the leftovers will taste good for sandwiches. I didn't have tahini - so I just used about 2 tablespoons of sesame oil. I thought the flavor was like the very best teriyaki I could imagine. I heated up the extra marinade and we served it over the meat. We all oooood and awed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLTOONS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
We really enjoyed this marinade for something different. I did, however, make a few changes (due to what I had on hand): left out the green onions, used chunky peanut butter instead of tahini, and added a heaping tablespoon of chile garlic paste. I marinated tri-tip steak in it for about 8 hours and grilled it. Also took the remaining marinade, boiled it, and used it as a sauce for the cooked steak. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
I approached this recipe with a "why not?" attitude: I had some chicken breasts to marinate and was looking for something new. This did not disappoint! What a wonderful and unique blend of flavours! Perfect, perfect, perfect! I grilled these and then cut them into strips to serve over a mesclun salad drizzled with olive oil, a splash of balsamic vinegar and then mixed with paper-thin slices of red onion, cucumber, cherry tomatoes. I served slices of grilled bread on the side. So refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States