Absolutely The Best Shrimp Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This was absolutely the best shrimp scampi ever! it was simple, yet fantastic! If you follow the recipe its great. I threw some feta cheese on top of the shrimp before broiling it. You shouldn't rate the recipe based on your experience with it after changing the recipe. Its unfair for those who haven't tried it yet to consider it with a bad rating based on your recipe instead of the original one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
246 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
Great recipe for scampi. Tossed the brandy/wine mixture with some angel hair pasta, parmesan, red pepper flakes and poured the olive oil/shrimp over the top. It turned out great! The key with the shrimp is to fully butterfly them, dry them out using a paper towel, flour them and refrigerate before sauteing. Good luck and happy eating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
This wasn't bad but I have had better. I added more garlic. I also thought it needed some lemon and maybe a little butter. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
I have ordered shrimp scampi in restaurants plus I have also made it myself several times, but this recipe, by far, beats them all!!! It really does melt in your mouth. Subtle crispness on the outside and sooooo tender inside....yummmmmmmmm! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
This was delicious! Instead of the brandy, I added a little half & half, white wine & flour. Topped w/ fresh parmesean cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by grneyedmustang
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I wasn't overly impressed with this recipe. It wasn't bad, but I felt like it was missing something. I will try it again, and maybe tinker with it a bit. Update (9/10) - I made this again, adding green onions and some lemon juice (1/4 lemon), and loved it. I also let the shrimp sit in the flour mixture about seven minutes before sauteeing, and added one small diced roma tomato to the garlic mixture - to imitate the scampi made at a restaurant famous for it's cheesecake. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Good but not the absolute best. I made no changes to the recipe followed it percisely. It has great texture and flavor. I suppose I was hoping for something more garlicky and buttery (shrimp scampi served at Red Lobster). I'll keep searching though. I won't add this to my regular rotation but I will keep it handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
Very delicous. We added 1 T lemon juice at the end. We used butter instead of olive oil. No brandy in the house, but still very yummy. How to chop fresh parsley??? Trim stems and cut parsley using kitchen scissors in a small, tall sided bowl. Makes the chopping process so much easier. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
I love seafood and am a big "food snob." This recipe is excellent. I would definitely serve it at a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This recipe is amazing. My girlfriend now INSISTS I make it at least once a month! If your looking for a great shrimp scampi recipe, this one will not dissapoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States