Absolutely The Best Shrimp Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Good but not "absolutely the best". The flavor combination is very good. The only substitution I made was Scotch whiskey instead of brandy b/c I didn't have any brandy, and some diced purple onion in place of the shallot. some other reviewers who served over pasta commented on it being too dry. I too served on pasta but doubled the wet ingredients and it did help some. I might venture to do even a little more next time. When I do make this again, I will omit dredging the shrimp in the flour, it end ups mushy in the oil, OR....I will place the broiled shrimp on top of the pasta and then drizzle the sauce over the pasta and shrimp right at serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Grneyedmustang's adjustments should defintely be made: "I made this again, adding green onions and some lemon juice (1/4 lemon), and loved it. I also let the shrimp sit in the flour mixture about seven minutes before sauteeing, and added one small diced roma tomato to the garlic mixture" I further added a smidgin' of tomato paste -- not sure if I'd do that again and if you try, limit it to 1-2 teaspoons I'd say. Other good advice here was to completely butterfly the shrimp -- it's not a hard and it's a great effect. I used non-stick pan and thus didn't have much pan scraps to flambe. I ended put a little more white wine over the dish after the flambe. THIS IS A SHOW-STOPPING STARTER. Your guests will flip! Consider making more! (I also added some scallops, those for 2 min. instead of 5. *Great!*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I will make this again, and again, and again! If you are looking for a Red Lobster type of recipe, this is not the one. However, this is a scrumptious meal. I added butter to the oil, and that worked well. Next time, I will put a tiny bit more garlic, but this is my personal preference. My kids looooooved the shrimp and ate them all! They also loved watching the fire in the pan (I had fun setting the alcohol on fire ;-D) I served the shrimp with a side of buttered pasta. Yummy! This was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This is an outstanding shrimp recipe. I had extra people so first I browned some cod cakes and placed in over and then did the shrimp as specified - what a great combination. Everyone raved, they think I am a genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I could not believe how good this was. Here's a few tips: This recipe goes really quick - have all your ingredients pre-measured and ready to go. This will not produce a lot of sauce so you may want to plan to have it "with" instead of "over" something. I think I should have made rice pilaf or something that would not compete with the main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
YUM!!! I followed most of the directions. I only used one pound of shrimp, since we actually made this for two but I kept the other ingredients the same. I didn't cook the shrimp for 5 mins, probably closer to 3, since 5 mins seemed like a lot. I added the white wine and not the brandy and didn't bother putting it under the broiler. I'm not sure what that adds. I served over whole wheat linguine (added a bit of olive oil over it first) and topped with some crushed red pepper and fresh parmesan. Not too time consuming and very tasty. We will definitely add this to our regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
just delicious. i couldn't ignite the brandy with only 2 tablespoons, so i added a bit more and then ignited, then i reduced it a bit in the pan before pouring it back over the shrimp. I also added just a few shavings of parmesan over the top before broiling. It was beautiful and an unbelievable hit at our dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I've been looking for a great scampi recipe, and I think with a little tweaking this might be it. I followed the recipe to a T, with good results. I'm not sure the flour is completely necessary, and next time I would definitely double the sauce. I think I'll try this one again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
we fell in love with this recipe the first time we tried it. I usually add a bit more garlic since we are garlic lovers, but its easy and tastes so good that it absolutely is the best shrimp scampi. We usually serve it with a pilaf and a nice salad or broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I made this for a small dinner party and I'm so glad I did! I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mountain House, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States