Absolutely The Best Shrimp Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Breaded shrimp scampi is a new twist for me. The family liked it (I added Parmesan prior to broiling) but wished for more sauce. I don't keep brandy on hand so I doubled the wine. So maybe next time I'd add butter and a squeeze of lemon. Will probably make this recipe again, altho the breading part adds time.UPDATE: April 2015 This recipe takes more time then most others, but the result is worth it. I added 1/2 stick of butter and then tossed the shrimp with pasta. A squeeze of lemon on top is the finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
We loved this recipe, a different twist on scampi. We had fried a bit of bacon for salad and started the sauté with the leftover bacon grease with the olive oil and a bit of butter. I had no brandy but used a blended whiskey (yum), added some lemon juice at the end and threw some parmesan cheese on as we served it on some pasta. Not too much pasta because the shrimp became the main character for the entre. Wedge salad and garlic bread completed the meal, Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Glocheski Barker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mattawan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Great! Husband loved it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
served this over brown rice. shrimp was perfect and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Followed the recipe as written. Shrimp were soggy and the breading didn't adhere to the shrimp properly. Very faint garlic flavor. Very limited sauce too so forget putting this over pasta. Hardly any sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This is such a great recipe! Im still new to cooking and was able to master this! This was soooooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovelyNewCook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elaina501
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I made this recipe for my grandma's birthday, and it turned out great. I added some scallops, and I also caramelized some onions with a red bell pepper and tossed the scampi with it. I used four tbsp White Zinfandel instead of the white wine and brandy because it was already open in the fridge, and I didn't want to find real alcohol. I topped it with half a lemon's worth of juice, lemon zest, and parmesan. I definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elaina501

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Too much prep. Not worth the time. Just so,so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Excellent flavor, although I had trouble getting the shrimp to sautee up without all the mixture falling off. In the end there was not a lot of sauce to go overtop, and it seemed dry. May try again with more wet ingredients?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonflydays

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I wanted a shrimp recipe that included brandy and this worked but I would have like something more with a little more sauce. I guess that I could have added more white wine. I loved the lightly breaded and pan fried shrimp the best! I dredged the shrimp in a gluten free potato and garbanzo bean flout and it turned out perfect. I used cilantro and lemon instead of parsley less garlic and and a chopped porcini mushroom and butter. Next time I make I will use more white wine and add a little thickener for a nice sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Shrimp Scampi

Check out this simple, quick dinner idea!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States