Absolutely The Best Shrimp Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I LOVED this - it was tasty and incredibly easy. I would like to have more of a sauce with it though. My husband does not like the breading (but I did because of the texture and it held the cayenne flavor to each shrimp). Whole family agreed it was very tasty and all would eat it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I never made scampi before, and selected this recipe because it looked pretty easy and purported to be "the best." Then, as I'm cooking, I see it's telling me to light things on fire. Give me a break! Plus my husband complained that the shrimp isn't supposed to be breaded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tryingcake
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This was really good but not the best scampi ever. It is a very good recipe on its own. I just don't think it's a scampi recipe. I'm giving it four stars because I did really like it and will make it again. It's just not scampi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tryingcake

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
it was really tasty and easy to make but next time, i would add more seasoning to the shrimp and the flour batter. that was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
My family loved this recipe, just the way it is. Thats including a picky four year old. Will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This was a fantastic starting point for me. I have to cook gluten free, so was a little concerned. The differences I used were, replaced all purpose flour with rice flour, tripled the garlic, the juice of 1/2 lemon and about a tbl of zest to the saute, added chopped fresh spinach, and small sliced roma tomato to the shrimp prior to putting under the broiler, I also used red cooking wine instead of the brandy because I was out. Over all husband, 18 yr old son, his girlfriend and my 14 yr old daughter loved it. I made a double batch to have for lunches tomorrow, but as there is none left we will be having sandwiches. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Was bland, even with extra garlic. Not enough oil remained to blend the spices together well, and certainly no sauce for anything other than the shrimp. Only thing I could really taste was the cayenne pepper. Followed recipe to a tee, this is the first time I've been let down (and embarrassed serving this) by an allrecipes recipe rated so highly. Not what you would expect for a true shrimp scampi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I made this last night and it was delicious! My whole family loved it! I thought the coating on the shrimp was just perfect and the cayenne pepper made it very tasty. The only thing I didn't use was brandy because I didn't have it. I served it with whole wheat pasta. I didn't have enough sauce left over for the pasta so it was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christinac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Very, very good! I tried using 1/2 shrimp and 1/2 Florida bay scallops -- shrimp was excellent -- scallops were just okay - not bad, just not excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This was extremely tasty.The boyfriend kept eating the cooked shrimp before the meal was finished. He's giving it a 5. I didn't have shallots so used chives and it was delightful. While not the scampi dishes I have made and loved before, it was really good. I cannot wait for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States