Absolutely Fabulous Portobello Mushroom Tortellini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2001
I agree this is one of the fastest ways to impress people I've discovered. I've tried this recipe with store-bought Alfredo sauce before, and we found it way too sweet--mind you, it was because of the paticular sauce we chose. A quick suggestion if you don't have the ready-made sauce on hand: saute 2-3 cloves minced garlic in some butter, add the mushrooms and saute for 2 or 3 minutes, add 1 tablespoon of flour to 2 cups milk, then add to mushrooms, simmer until thick and then add 1/3 cup parmesan cheese -- voila! A low fat alfredo with delicious mushroom taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
My husband and I both loved this recipe! Don't forget to scrape the "gills" out from the underside of the mushroom, that way the sauce won't turn the purple/brown color some people complained about. I added yellow bell pepper, zucchini, broccoli, cherry tomatoes and carrots as well. Then instead of mixing it all together I just spooned the sauce on top of the noodles and topped it with the mushrooms and veggies. Very delicious and beautiful presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
I started hunting around for an alfredo sauce recipe after reading Katya's review. I used the quick and easy alfredo sauce recipe from here(think thats the same one she got from here). It made a huge difference. The dish went from a good one to an excellent one. The sauce definitely transformed it. I also added mozarella to the top after I was done to make it more cheesy. We LOVE this recipe now. I think what I made at home was as good or better than the local restaurant version. I'm glad I have a treadmill.......lotta calories in this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
I made this at a grocery store demo and it went over very well. To cut the fat, I made a low fat alfredo sauce. This is very delicious and I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2001
This was quick and easy. I used a larger jar of sauce 16 ounces. Next time I think I will add some peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
The first time I made this, we couldn't eat it...but it wasn't the recipe's fault. I had never used any jarred sauces and thought I would try one here. For heaven's sake, take a little extra time and make your own. As soon as I opened the jar, I knew we wouldn't enjoy it. The smell is absolutely disgusting...it reminded me of my baby's infant formula...you know that iron-rich fake milk smell? Needless to say, we tried again with a homemade sauce and it was superb. Do yourself a favor, unless you have experienced and liked (although I cannot fathom why) the jarred alfredo sauces (even the more expensive ones, which is what I bought, just to be sure), MAKE YOUR OWN ALFREDO SAUCE! You won't be disappointed...although you may be if you don't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
This was delicious, would definately make again.I used baby bella mushrooms instead of portobello's, and added some sliced red pepper to the mix. I also made my own alfredo instead of the stuff in a jar, the "Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce" recipe from this site (which was also delicious!). My only problem was after adding the alfredo to the wine/garlic/veggie mix, the sauce was too thin so I allowed it to simmer a bit and thicken up. But I must say.....this dish blew me and my boyfriend away, the rest of the wine used to cook in this recipe we finished off with the meal, PERFECT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
My roommate enjoyed it...however, it did not appeal to me very much...Seemed like it was missing something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Very good. Will definately make this again. I'm going to add some Italian sausage next time. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Wilmoth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
JUST what I was looking for!! We used 2/3 cup white wine and it turned out JUST like our local restaurant's! This is Heaven on a Plate & SURE to be one of our regular meals!!! THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Smoked Sausage & Mushroom Pasta Marinara

Pair the bold flavors of smoked sausage with mushrooms and marinara sauce.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States