Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I love this dressing! Here are the scaled down measurements that will fit into one of those glass, good seasons dressing bottles: 3/4 cup oil 1 cup vinegar 2 tsp garlic powder 2 tsp oregano 2 tsp basil 1.5 tsp pepper 1.5 tsp salt 1.5 tsp onion powder 1.5 tsp mustard Enoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2342 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
HO-LEEE MO-LEEE! Man, this stuff is GOOD! Don't let the seemingly common ingredients fool you - this is incredible on any salad (let's put it this way - I've had salad twice a day since I made this, including a breakfast salad!!). It's exactly the way I think dressing should be - so tangy, packed with flavor and EASY. I love that I can store it out in my countertop with my olive oil and vinegars (I put it in an empty balsamic vinegar bottle - very cute!). **For an extra-tasty Greek salad, put the desired amount of dressing in a small bowl, and add at least 1/2 the amount of feta you plan to use. Stir gently, then let it sit 15 minutes or more before adding to the traditional salad ingredients. Very yummy! **ADDED LATER** Made as directed, this dressing will separate very quickly and very thoroughly! Here's how to lessen that: You will have to scale back quite a bit - play with the recipe scaler until the oil and the vinegar together equal an amount that will fit in your blender and still leave mixing room. Then, put everything BUT the oil and the herbs in the blender and start 'er up - medium high should do it. Very slowly drizzle in the olive oil until it is all incorporated. Woohoo! You just emulsified! Stop the blender, add in the herbs, pulse once or twice. Just mix in the herbs, don't chop them - it's prettier. Problem solved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1047 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2004
I took the advice of previous reviews and used equal parts of oil & vinegar. Also, I used 2 parts red wine vinegar and 1 part balsamic. We had a back-yard BBQ and I make a HUGE salad with kalamata olives, thinly-sliced red onion, grape tomatoes, peppercini, and crumbled feta then tossed with this dressing. Everyone loved it! My daughter and husband are already asking me to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
497 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
This truly is absolutely fabulous. I made this for Father's day and everyone loved it - even my dad who generally doesn't like salad. I did make one change however. When I first made it, it seemed much too tart so I added a little sugar - not enough to make it sweet but just enough to cut down on the tartness. That made it perfect. I'm sure this will be come a standard in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
FANTASTIC! I like to slice ripe tomatoes, dip them in the dressing, put them on a slice of baguette, top with a bit of freshly grated parm or grated mozzarella, and top it in the broiler for a minute or so. DELISH! YUMMY! I no longer buy the cruet-type dressing mix, this is so much better and cheaper! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2002
Our family loves this recipe! I scale it down to just enough for the 4 of us. It is a great addition to our salads when we make greek dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Delicious! I scaled this down to five servings - so easy to make. I served this over Good for You Greek Salad and the tanginess of the red wine vinegar was balanced out by the feta cheese. This dressing is very versatile and I'm sure would be great on pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
My family and I enjoy this dressing. We crave for it and probably have it at least 1x per week. The key to the dressing not tasting vinegary is to use a better than average grade of red wine vinegar and plenty of feta cheese. The salt in the feta balances out the tanginess of the red wine vinegar. EXCELLENT! Thanks for sharing Danielle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
This dressing is sooo good! It tastes great on anything, but I love to use on a pasta salad with bell peppers, mushrooms, sliced kalamata olives, and feta cheese. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
Very good recipe. Many comments on this dressing from friends. It is quite easy to make. I added a couple cloves of garlic to it and it was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely Fabulous Greek Dressing

This tangy dressing travels well since it doesn't need refrigeration.

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States