Absolutely Delicious Green Bean Casserole from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving because I was tired of making the same ole Green Bean casserole using the cans of mushroom soup. I liked the idea of using FRESH ingredients. I used fresh green beans instead of "frozen" I boiled water, put plenty of salt and butter in the pot before adding the green beans and blanched them for about 10 min or so. the time depends on how you like your green beans. I dont like mines too soggy/mushy. I used just regular mushrooms that already came sliced/cleaned and sauteed them with the onions before adding the other ingredients. I omitted the lemon and accidently forgot to add the parsley although I did buy it. This was a hit. I was unsure of how this was going to turn out so I didnt make a lot. After seeing how fast it went, I wished I had. :) I'll be making this on a regular dinner night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I made it for Thansksgiving but not impreesive. I am sure this is a kid-friendly recipe as it is mild tasting. To us it was unimpressive and only slightly better than the soupy, can of mushroom cream soup, kind. I steamed the french cut green beans in the microwave with some water. I would highly recommend frying up the mushrooms with the onions to pull out some of the flavor. The thickening with the flour and milk worked real well. Perhaps use 3/4 sour cream and 1/4 yogurt or half-half... Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Gabarra Koller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I will never make this again. The sour cream was too overpowering (and we love sour cream!). The lemon was a little much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
For us this was just ok. I think I will stick to my tried and true recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This was great! My fiance loves this stuff and gave it a thumbs up. It isn't as easy as the typical recipe, but it is very much worth it. Would go well with many home-style meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This is so much better than the original recipe. I sauted the mushrooms with the onion and parsley and added 3 tablespoons of ranch dressing. It was a big hit for Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheelwright, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Wawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Ok so I made this for Thanksgiving this year, and as I was cooking for 5 boys, the only addition i decided to make to the recipe was to add bacon. As my boyfriend says, bacon makes everything better. being a vegetarian myself I wasn't able to taste this for myself, but I will say that this dish is literally the ONLY leftovers he has eaten....everyday since thanksgiving. Thanks for the awesome recipe, something tells me I'll be making this a lot sooner than next thanksgiving!!! also, i added the milk before stirring in the flour because the butter was not enough liquid to prevent the flour from clumping...this dish is GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
The assembled casserole, waiting to go into the oven, looks and smells absolutely delicious, as advertised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Forgive me, but after all the the "fresh, scratch" comments, why are we using frozen beans? I have no problem with it but it doesn't seem to fit the hype. Having said that, I will try it as I love that casserole and I hate the canned soup stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I made this for Christmas dinner and it was a major hit. I didn't put the cheese on top as I didn't have any but everyone wanted to bring the rest home..and wanted the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States