Absolutely Delicious Green Bean Casserole from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by caverjen
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This was a huge hit at our Thanksgiving dinner. It is SO MUCH better than the traditional "dump the cans" dish. It is not difficult to make, but it did take me more like an hour to prepare it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caverjen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I had never ever made green bean casserole before for Thanksgiving dinner because my fiancee doesn't like it. However, I decided to add it to my Thanksgiving menu last year and he LOVED it. So did the rest of my family. The entire dish disappeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I recently moved in with my boyfriend and he only has a stove, not an oven. I made this completely on the stovetop and it came out perfect. It was only him and I so I cut the recipe in half and it was still a lot. I used 1 cup milk since I had to simmer it on the stove but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarDuJour

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I made this for potluck style dinner with friends. Everyone loved it. I sauteed mushrooms and made sure top was covered with french fried onions and cheese. Love the recipe title, it's absolutely true.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving because I was tired of making the same ole Green Bean casserole using the cans of mushroom soup. I liked the idea of using FRESH ingredients. I used fresh green beans instead of "frozen" I boiled water, put plenty of salt and butter in the pot before adding the green beans and blanched them for about 10 min or so. the time depends on how you like your green beans. I dont like mines too soggy/mushy. I used just regular mushrooms that already came sliced/cleaned and sauteed them with the onions before adding the other ingredients. I omitted the lemon and accidently forgot to add the parsley although I did buy it. This was a hit. I was unsure of how this was going to turn out so I didnt make a lot. After seeing how fast it went, I wished I had. :) I'll be making this on a regular dinner night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I made it for Thansksgiving but not impreesive. I am sure this is a kid-friendly recipe as it is mild tasting. To us it was unimpressive and only slightly better than the soupy, can of mushroom cream soup, kind. I steamed the french cut green beans in the microwave with some water. I would highly recommend frying up the mushrooms with the onions to pull out some of the flavor. The thickening with the flour and milk worked real well. Perhaps use 3/4 sour cream and 1/4 yogurt or half-half... Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Gabarra Koller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I will never make this again. The sour cream was too overpowering (and we love sour cream!). The lemon was a little much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
For us this was just ok. I think I will stick to my tried and true recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This was great! My fiance loves this stuff and gave it a thumbs up. It isn't as easy as the typical recipe, but it is very much worth it. Would go well with many home-style meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This is so much better than the original recipe. I sauted the mushrooms with the onion and parsley and added 3 tablespoons of ranch dressing. It was a big hit for Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheelwright, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Wawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States