Absolutely Delicious Green Bean Casserole from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I was really excited to make this for Thanksgiving, but to me it was way too bland, even after adding extra cheese. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
My husband, who does not like green beans, loves this recipe. I made this for Thanksgiving and his family really enjoys this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blooming Prairie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I loved this casserole! The sauce was super creamy and easy to make! This was a big hit at Easter dinner, and it's nice knowing that something this tasty is also not loaded with salt and preservatives. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mboyer

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
the lemon zest makes this! by far the best GBC i have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This was a great recipe! I followed the directions except I cooked the onions and mushrooms(used the kind suggested and they were worth the $$)together. Tossed them with the green beans then did the sauce after that seperately. I wish I had blanched the beans just a tad longer then suggested. The lemon zest is the key, resist the urge to add more as I did because it would have been too much had I given in to temptation!! Had other things in the oven so really didn't watch the cook time but it was more like 30-40 minutes!! I will make this again!! Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This was just fantastic. First time I have ever cooked with lemon zest but I think that is the secret to this dish. I sautéed the mushrooms with the onions as other suggested and I think it profited from that. I did all the stove-top prep the night before then put in a casserole dish and refrigerated. Finished them in the oven the next day for dinner, although had to cook about 2x as long because the dish was so cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Delicious! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene
Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Awesome! My kids loved this!@!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This recipie is perfect the only thing I did diffrently was I cut up about 6 pieces of thick sliced bacon in to little bits and fryed it soft then added it to this recipie. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Deer Trail, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
My husband is allergic to the preservatives in most canned soups. This recipe is delicious. I used fresh french green beans (cut in half so it would serve more easily) and chanterelle mushrooms (that's what they had at costco) and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States