Absolutely Delicious Green Bean Casserole from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Tried this as a test run pre-Thanksgiving this year. Very good. I will tweak a bit for the actual holiday, but so much better than canned soup recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Wow!! I'm not a huge fan of green bean casserole, but my friends and family are. However, this was awesome!! I really loved it. If green bean casserole had always tasted so good, I would have been a fan years ago. Anyway, I had to make some changes to make this gluten free... I used gluten free flour and funions instead if french's fried onions. And it was so yummy. Next time I will add some salt and garlic powder. This is a must try recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Substituted fresh green beans, skipped lemon zest and parsley, added a couple of cloves of garlic. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I made this on both Thanksgiving and Christmas (different people). Followed the advice of a few others and sauteed the mushrooms with the onions. Use baby bellas instead of crimini (store didn't have them). Added a little extra salt and a dash more pepper. Used 2% cheese and reduced fat milk, and light sour cream to make it a tad healthier. No one knew the difference (although I did add more cheese than the recipe called for). For convenience sake (and from lessons learned on Thanksgiving), I baked it for about 40 minutes and the string beans were still nice and firm. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I made this recipe with asparagus spears for Thanksgiving this year and it was such a hit my family said I had to make it again for Christmas.. my vegetarian daughter acutally requested her very own small cassarole so she wouldn't have to share :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Awesome! I was in such a hurry on turkey day that I forgot to steam the green beans and it still turned out awesome! Your know a recipe is good when you screw it up and it still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarlettjulie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Liked the more traditional green bean casserole better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Great addition to the Thanksgiving menu. So much better than the canned version. TEN times better! Might try making my own fried onions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was very good and very rich. If I made it again, I'd add more salt. This was good enough to make me forget the green beans were frozen, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States