Absolutely Delicious Green Bean Casserole from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I made this dish last year for Thanksgiving and it was gone within ten minutes and I was asked to make a triple batch this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
We really enjoyed this casserole. I didn't use frenched green beans, just whole ones. Also, I omitted the onions, and it still tasted great. I mixed everything together in my baking dish to save dishes. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I'm sure this may taste wonderful, but it's too much hassle for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybug49

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I have made this twice in the past 2 weeks and it has turn out perfect both times! I've tried it with fresh green beans and canned green beans and I love both! If I have time to prep it I will use the fresh green beans and if I am short on time I open up the canned green beans! By far my favorite green bean casserole! It will be a favorite for awhile! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Her

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I love this recipe. I've made it a few times now and it is a favorite for the frequent family BBQs around here. I add bacon because, well, what doesn't go well with more bacon right?! & I didn't have lemon but it was still super fabulous. This is my Go To Green Bean Casserole. No more cans of SOUP!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
The best I have ever had. I didn't have any cans of cream of mushroom soup, so I used this recipe. I didn't use as many mushrooms (and mine were canned)and didn't use any lemon zest. It was incredibly rich and I could definitely taste the cheddar. Thanks for sharing! I will never go bake to the canned cream of mushroom soup version again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Usually my sister makes this type of dish for Thanksgiving (with the canned soups, which I don't like) so I offered to make it this year. Found this recipe and gave it a try and now I'm in charge of making the green bean casserole! Everyone loved it. I even made it again the following week and tweaked the recipe a little. It's ok if you don't have the lemon zest and the parsley - it's great without them. The only thing I would recommend is to saute the mushrooms with the onions so they get tender too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dothemooshoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I am looking for a "from scratch" recipe for Green Bean Casserole as this year I'm cooking for Gluten, Egg and Corn allergies. I don't have a problem replacing the frozen beans with fresh, however I cannot use the canned french fried onions. Funny that the first line of the description by the author is "No cans here" yet the final ingredient is 1 can of french fried onions. I guess she meant no tin cans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Family will not eat it any other way. This recipe is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
The casserole was delicious but the instructions for bean cooking time was way off and resulted in crunchy beens in the casserole. Cook the beans for a good hour to allow for them to cream together with the rest of the casserole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanja Warren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States