Absolutely Delicious Green Bean Casserole from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Made this tonight looks amazing can't wait to try it. Thanks for the recipe that I can make with diet friendly ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This was a great hit at our Thanksgiving dinner. I made another batch after Thanksgiving adding leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Oney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
So far the best green bean casserole recipe I have found. Instead of frozen beans I used fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I will be trying this recipe for the first time for Thanksgiving. I am so excited to find a recipe that doesn't use canned soup! And the addition of mushrooms and onions just makes this sound so much more yummy than the old one. As for those of you who said it lacked flavor, did you taste it before baking? Any good cook knows you have to taste it first. Maybe the addition of a little seasoning salt would zip this up a little. I'm giving it 5 stars now but will be back after I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Hinch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Added some crumbled bacon and a bit of the rendered fat instead of one of the tbsp. of butter when making the roux. LOVED this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This was a great recipe but it was very rich, and I added soy sauce, a few dashes of Worcester sauce and a lot of salt and pepper and it was still missing something. Next time I make it I will use fresh green beans and cream of mushroom soup and a little sour cream.... and see what's up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I avoid canned soups so I tried this recipe. I ended up cutting the sour cream in half and there was still plenty. Overall it was pretty bland other than the french fried onions. I will not be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
The family raved about this recipe. This had a nice flavor, and I liked the mushroom and onion with the green beans. To make this gluten-free, I substituted 1 can (18 oz) Progresso® Vegetable Classics creamy mushroom soup with 2 Tb potato flour as a thickener. For the topping, I used gluten free onion flavor potato chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Tried my first green bean casserole tonight and it did not dissapoint. I added two cloves of garlic and sauteed with the onions and mushrooms. I also added 2 tsp dijon mustard for more flavor. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
LOVED this recipe! Like others, it got my attention because it doesn't use anything from a can! With the frozen beans you can control how well done you want them. I prefer them nice and crisp which you definitely can't get from a can. I used shiitake mushrooms which we had marinated ourselves. The sour cream and lemon zest give the dish a nice bright tanginess and the crispy onions added a lot of flavor. I did use the cheddar cheese but just a little as I didn't want it to be too heavy and gooey. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States