Absolutely Delicious Green Bean Casserole from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I liked this recipe, but it needs a little something. I added a tsp of thyme and upped black pepper to 1/2 tsp since many reviews said bland taste. I also sauteed the mushrooms with the onions. The sour cream taste is rich (used maybe 3/4 cup) and just not quite what I wanted for the sauce. I might try to modify using milk, broth and Worcestershire sauce, and reduce like when making a pot pie. Regardless, I liked this far better than the usual green bean casserole, and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Made this tonight looks amazing can't wait to try it. Thanks for the recipe that I can make with diet friendly ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This was a great hit at our Thanksgiving dinner. I made another batch after Thanksgiving adding leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Oney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
So far the best green bean casserole recipe I have found. Instead of frozen beans I used fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I will be trying this recipe for the first time for Thanksgiving. I am so excited to find a recipe that doesn't use canned soup! And the addition of mushrooms and onions just makes this sound so much more yummy than the old one. As for those of you who said it lacked flavor, did you taste it before baking? Any good cook knows you have to taste it first. Maybe the addition of a little seasoning salt would zip this up a little. I'm giving it 5 stars now but will be back after I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Hinch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Added some crumbled bacon and a bit of the rendered fat instead of one of the tbsp. of butter when making the roux. LOVED this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This was a great recipe but it was very rich, and I added soy sauce, a few dashes of Worcester sauce and a lot of salt and pepper and it was still missing something. Next time I make it I will use fresh green beans and cream of mushroom soup and a little sour cream.... and see what's up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I avoid canned soups so I tried this recipe. I ended up cutting the sour cream in half and there was still plenty. Overall it was pretty bland other than the french fried onions. I will not be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
The family raved about this recipe. This had a nice flavor, and I liked the mushroom and onion with the green beans. To make this gluten-free, I substituted 1 can (18 oz) Progresso® Vegetable Classics creamy mushroom soup with 2 Tb potato flour as a thickener. For the topping, I used gluten free onion flavor potato chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Tried my first green bean casserole tonight and it did not dissapoint. I added two cloves of garlic and sauteed with the onions and mushrooms. I also added 2 tsp dijon mustard for more flavor. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States