Absolutely Delicious Baked Root Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I just wanted to note that my original recipe called for Montreal Steak Spice which has a lot more flavor and depth than regular steak seasoning salts. If you do not have this seasoning you can make an approximation of it using 2 parts paprika, course grind balck pepper and salt to 1 part garlic powder, onion powder, crushed corriander, dill and crushed red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEWSAHMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I was looking for a decent way to cook my root vegetables and chose this recipe because I thought the combination of veggies and spices sounded good. I honestly didn't care for it. The spices together were mediocre and I did not care for the way the rutabagas and parsnips tasted. I suppose that if you like these vegetables unflavored, you will like this recipe. I prepare them more heavily spiced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This recipe is great! You can make it with any combination of root veggies; I like to skip rutabagas and new potatoes and add butternut squash and turnips. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hawley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Great recipe. In contrast to other reviews I found it to be over seasoned, so I guess you need to adjust for your personal taste in that respect. I also prefer my veggies in bigger rustic chunks so I obviously had to increase the cook time accordingly. One little tip I have is to add a slug of maple syrup when there's 10-15 mins left... adds a lovely woodsy caramelised layer of flavor and enhances the sweetness of the roasted veg. Yum! (FYI - I don't use the sweet chilli sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I liked the flavors, but not the texture. I didn't like the rutabega and parsnips--I was hoping to find a good recipe for them, but I'm still looking. I only ate the potatoes and yams--had to throw the rest away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Amazing... I make with just sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Fan-freakin'-tastic. I cut the root veggies thin to be more like chips, this is a definite repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrianDThibault

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was great! I had never had parsnips or rutabaga until we went to England for our honeymoon. Since we've been back, I've been wanting to cook them myself. I substituted more of the other veggies since I don't like carrots, and next time I'm omitting the steak seasoning. It was just too much. And I used the Montreal steak seasoning...Other than that, great recipe! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
These were pretty good. I did find them a bit too spicy for my palate, and I think it was the extra pepper that did it--the submitter is right, Montreal Steak Seasoning packs a punch, and it has pepper in it already. I'd leave out the additionl pepper next time. I don't think I've ever had parsnips or rutabagas, and I have no idea if I like them--didn't find them in the store so I just left them out and put in a red pepper instead. I also used baby carrots--tossed them in as is, although I really shouldve cut them in half at least since they took the longest to cook. These veggies are good; just modify the seasonings to taste. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
My family did not like this. I can't really blame the recipe though. I think we just don't like rutabaga. Also, since I didn't have any sweet red chili sauce so I substituted a small amount of chili oil which is probably totally different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Skokie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

How to Roast Winter Vegetables

Learn how to roast seasoned root vegetables to bring out their earthy flavors.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States