Absolutely Delicious Baked Root Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I just wanted to note that my original recipe called for Montreal Steak Spice which has a lot more flavor and depth than regular steak seasoning salts. If you do not have this seasoning you can make an approximation of it using 2 parts paprika, course grind balck pepper and salt to 1 part garlic powder, onion powder, crushed corriander, dill and crushed red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEWSAHMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I was looking for a decent way to cook my root vegetables and chose this recipe because I thought the combination of veggies and spices sounded good. I honestly didn't care for it. The spices together were mediocre and I did not care for the way the rutabagas and parsnips tasted. I suppose that if you like these vegetables unflavored, you will like this recipe. I prepare them more heavily spiced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This recipe is great! You can make it with any combination of root veggies; I like to skip rutabagas and new potatoes and add butternut squash and turnips. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hawley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Great recipe. In contrast to other reviews I found it to be over seasoned, so I guess you need to adjust for your personal taste in that respect. I also prefer my veggies in bigger rustic chunks so I obviously had to increase the cook time accordingly. One little tip I have is to add a slug of maple syrup when there's 10-15 mins left... adds a lovely woodsy caramelised layer of flavor and enhances the sweetness of the roasted veg. Yum! (FYI - I don't use the sweet chilli sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I liked the flavors, but not the texture. I didn't like the rutabega and parsnips--I was hoping to find a good recipe for them, but I'm still looking. I only ate the potatoes and yams--had to throw the rest away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Amazing... I make with just sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Fan-freakin'-tastic. I cut the root veggies thin to be more like chips, this is a definite repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrianDThibault

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was great! I had never had parsnips or rutabaga until we went to England for our honeymoon. Since we've been back, I've been wanting to cook them myself. I substituted more of the other veggies since I don't like carrots, and next time I'm omitting the steak seasoning. It was just too much. And I used the Montreal steak seasoning...Other than that, great recipe! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
These were pretty good. I did find them a bit too spicy for my palate, and I think it was the extra pepper that did it--the submitter is right, Montreal Steak Seasoning packs a punch, and it has pepper in it already. I'd leave out the additionl pepper next time. I don't think I've ever had parsnips or rutabagas, and I have no idea if I like them--didn't find them in the store so I just left them out and put in a red pepper instead. I also used baby carrots--tossed them in as is, although I really shouldve cut them in half at least since they took the longest to cook. These veggies are good; just modify the seasonings to taste. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
My family did not like this. I can't really blame the recipe though. I think we just don't like rutabaga. Also, since I didn't have any sweet red chili sauce so I substituted a small amount of chili oil which is probably totally different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Skokie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

How to Roast Winter Vegetables

Learn how to roast seasoned root vegetables to bring out their earthy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States